What to Bring to the TX DPS for Your License

Getting your Texas driver’s license is an exciting rite of passage! As you go through the process of applying for your permit and preparing to take your licensing exam, it’s important to make sure you bring all the required documents. Otherwise, you could show up at the Department of Public Safety (DPS) only to have them turn you away and tell you to come back again another day.

The following guide provides a quick and simple document checklist, so you can make sure you’re prepared every step of the way.

Document Checklist When Applying for Your Texas Learner’s Permit

Obtaining your Texas learner’s permit is the first step toward getting your driver’s license. Once you’ve met all of the requirements and received your permit, you’ll be able to practice your driving skills. To get started, you must be at least 15 years old and have either begun or completed a Texas driver’s education course.  

Before you head over to the DPS, you’ll need to gather the following documents:

  • Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Evidence of Lawful Presence

  • Proof of identity  

  • Proof of residency (two documents)

  • Proof of Social Security number

  • Proof of insurance for all vehicles you own

  • Proof of Texas vehicle registration for all vehicles you own

  • Proof of driver’s education completion

  • Verification of enrollment and attendance in school (or equivalent)

  • Form DL-14B or Form DL-14A

  • Issuance fee ($16)

The Texas DPS checklist provides a detailed outline of acceptable documents for each of the categories listed above. 

If you’re under the age of 18, you’ll need to provide a completed Application for Driver License Form (DL-14B), signed by a parent or legal guardian. Applicants over the age of 17 years and 10 months will complete Form DL-14A.

Once you’ve presented all of the required documents, teens are required to take a 40-question, multiple-choice DPS knowledge test. This exam covers road rules and basic road signs. As long as you score at least 70%, you’ll receive your learner’s license.  

Document Checklist When Applying for Your Texas Provisional Driver’s License

After you’ve held your learner’s license for at least six months and you’ve completed the required behind-the-wheel training, you can take the Texas driver’s test. When you go to the DPS for your exam, you’ll need to bring the following items:

  • Completed Application for a Provisional Texas Driver’s License

  • Your Texas Learner License or other proof of identity

  • Evidence of Lawful Status (for non-U.S. citizens)

  • Proof of Social Security number

  • Proof of completion of an Impact Texas Driver (ITD) course

  • Proof of completion of a driver’s education course

  • Verification of enrollment and attendance in school (or equivalent)

  • Proof of insurance for the vehicle you will be using for your exam

  • Issuance fee ($16 or $33, depending on your age)

The Texas DPS Provisional License Checklistprovides additional details regarding the acceptable documents for each category. 

Once you pass your driver’s test, you’ll be upgraded to a provisional driver’s license, which will require you to follow teen driving laws until you turn 18. If you’re over 18 when you pass your test, you’ll receive a full license right away.

Start Preparing for Your Texas Driver’s License

If you’re ready to start on your journey towards obtaining your Texas learner’s permit or driver’s license, DriversEd.com is here to help. Our Texas driver’s ed online course is a convenient way to complete your learner’s permit requirement. It also includes unlimited free practice permit tests. Check it out today!

Get Started with your Online Drivers Ed Course Today

Learn More