Earn Your License with Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Ed for Ages 14+
Our online Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Education (PTDE) program is the most convenient and effective way to earn your Texas drivers license!
The DPS requires drivers education for teens 14 to 17 years old. Our DPS-approved parent-taught course (#108) includes everything you need to learn to drive with a parent instructor.
How Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Education Works
Sign Up for Texas PTDE
Our course is approved by the DPS (course #108) for the concurrent method of Texas parent-taught drivers ed. The program allows parents to teach their teen (14 to 17 years old) to drive.
Texas PTDE consists of two concurrent areas of instruction: drivers ed coursework and behind-the-wheel training. Our online course provides everything you'll need to successfully complete both parts of Texas parent-taught drivers education. Create an account to get started!
- Sign up to try 20% of the course for free
- Get a Certificate of Completion for a DPS-approved Texas PTDE course (#108)
- Get 50 free DPS practice permit tests
- Compare us to other Texas drivers ed options
Take Texas Drivers Ed Online
The coursework is all online for your convenience. Whether you log in on your desktop or laptop, your place in the course is automatically saved. You get unlimited access to the course, so you can review information whenever you want.
Our interactive lessons prepare you for the DPS permit test and in-car training. The material is easy to follow and designed to help you understand and remember the information you need to become a safe driver.
- Learn from videos, 3-D animations, and case studies
- Study traffic laws and techniques for safe driving
- Continue the course anytime, right where you left off
- Chat with live customer service 24/7 for free
Pass the DPS Permit Test
After you finish the first 6 hours of the online course, you can take the DPS written permit test to earn your learner license (also known as an instruction permit). (You must be 15 years old to take the DPS test.)
Our Texas parent-taught drivers ed course includes 50 free online practice tests to help you prepare for the real deal!
Start In-Car Training with Your Parent
You can start in-car training with your parent once you complete the first 6 hours of the online coursework and have your Texas learner license.
Our Texas PTDE course includes all the materials you and your parent need to complete behind-the-wheel training and prepare for the DPS driving test. Start the course now and take the first step toward earning your license!
Texas Drivers Education Saves Money and Lives
- Learn defensive driving techniques
- Earn an insurance discount of up to 10%
- No hidden fees—drivers ed for
Collisions can cost money and lives. Our Texas parent-taught drivers ed course teaches you to prevent and handle dangerous situations on the road.
DriversEd.com has been teaching drivers ed for over 25 years, and we're experts on traffic safety. We're the only school in the country that is approved by the Road Safety Educators' Association and accredited by the Driving School Association of the Americas.
The price of our course is , about the same as three tanks of gas. Compared to the money you'll spend on fuel, insurance, and all the rest, drivers ed is a great one-time investment for drivers.
Taking drivers ed is a smart decision that many insurance providers reward: you can earn an insurance discount by taking our course. Add up the savings over time, and you'll see that our Texas parent-taught drivers ed course is an investment that pays for itself. But before you pay, try the course for free to see what it's all about!