$25 off All Driving Lesson Packages of 6 Hours or More

Schedule Your Texas Driving Lessons with our Driving School Partners Near You

Independence Is Just Around the Corner

Ready to earn your driver's license or polish your driving skills?
Turn to DriversEd.com to match you with driving lessons in Texas, no matter your age or skill level.

Shield

Recommended for All Ages

Recommended for All Ages

Car and Person

Learn how to drive with one of our partners today!

Learn how to drive with one of our partners today!

House

Learn from Experienced, Professional Driving Instructors

Learn from Experienced, Professional Driving Instructors

Book

Lessons Designed to Meet all of your Driving Test Requirements

Lessons Designed to Meet all of your Driving Test Requirements

Find Your Perfect Package

DriversEd.com offers a range of behind-the-wheel packages to fit your needs and budget.

How it Works

Easy Steps: Earn Your License with Texas Driving Lessons

Mini
1

Sign Up for Lessons

Ready to get behind the wheel?

Enter your Zip Code and we’ll help you find a driving school in your area.

Learn driving skills from our partners.

Show More
2

Schedule Lessons

Schedule lessons at a time that is convenient for you.

When it’s time for your lesson, head to our partner’s location and begin your lessons.

Show More
3

Start Driving

Our partnered driving school instructor will guide you through everything: from starting the car to mastering the skills to be a safe and defensive driver.

Show More
4

Now Get Your License

In Texas, laws are constantly changing.

Behind-the-wheel training courses with our partner instructors will keep you up-to-date on the latest driving laws and techniques in crash avoidance, braking, and driving safely on increasingly crowded Texas roads.

Congrats and safe driving!

Show More

Master Key Skills

Every Texas driving lesson takes place in a top-rated safety car that's easy to maneuver and perfect to learn in!

Freeway Driving

Parallel Parking

Intersections/Traffic

Changing Lanes and Passing

Nighttime Driving

Scanning and Maneuvering

Texas Driving Lesson Requirements

Texas has different requirements for in-car training depending on your age. Find out what you need to do to earn your Texas driver license, depending on how old you are!

Mini Front View

Additional Driving Lessons Requirements

Show More

Under 18

In Texas, driving lessons for teens are required by the state of Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). Students between 15 and 18 years old must:

  • Pass a 32-hour drivers education course
  • Earn a learner license/instruction permit by passing a written test (included as part of our online curriculum).
  • Complete 14 hours of in-car drivers training consisting of 7 hours of driving instruction and 7 hours of driving observation with a state licensed driving instructor.
  • Complete 30 hours of driving supervised by a licensed driver, including 10 hours at night or complete that 30 hours with us, the proven professionals
  • Complete the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) course offered by the Texas DPS on their website
  • Pass the in-car road test at the DPS, which you can take with us

You can take drivers education and in-car driving lessons at the same time, but you must have a learners permit to begin your driving lessons. You are eligible for a learners permit and starting your in-car driving lessons once you've finished the first 6-hour module of drivers ed, which covers Texas traffic rules and regulations. You can even take your written permit test with us to make this process easier!

You have two options for your in-car training.

  1. You can take driving lessons with DriversEd.com, the only driving school which is nationally accredited and approved, and we offer expert professional instructors! They offer the training that every teen needs to handle a car safely and confidently. Over 6 million students trained!
  2. Or with a Parent-Taught drivers education course, and the in-car instruction with your parent, step-grandparent, step-parent, foster parent, grandparent, or legal guardian. The person selected must be the only coach throughout for all 14 hours of training.

Over 18 and Under 25

If you're over 18 and under 25 years old:

  • You must complete a 6-hour adult drivers education course approved by the TDLR
  • You must complete the Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) course
  • You must apply for a learner license/instruction permit

Driving lessons are not required, but learning to drive from our patient professional instructors will help you gain skill and confidence on the road. You'll learn and practice everything you need to know and pass the DPS road test. We can help you all the way to that driver's license!

25 and Over

If you're 25 years or older:

  • You must apply for a learner license/instruction permit.

Driving lessons are not required, but learning to drive from our patient professional instructors will help you gain skill and confidence on the road. You'll learn and practice everything you need to know and pass the DPS road test. We can help you all the way to that driver's license!

Course FAQs

So, Why Us?

Over 25 years of experience

Over 11 million drivers trained

DSAA Logo

Accredited by the Driving School Association of the Americas (DSAA)

All-in-one source: online course, in-car driving lessons, traffic school programs, and more

Training for teens and adults of all skill levels




../