How Long Does The Texas Online Adult Driver's Ed Course Take?
In Texas, driver's education is required for all adults learning to drive aged 18-24 and recommended for adults 25 years and older. Taking a driver’s education course teaches you about Texas driving laws and has other benefits like lowering your insurance rate. Plus, it's quick to complete.
How Long Does the Texas Online Adult Driver's Ed Course Take?
Brian Purcell, who runs the blog The Texas Highway Man, explains the state's requirements for online driver's ed courses. "When it comes to adult driver's ed courses, the State of Texas requires six hours of instruction, and the course curriculum and materials must be approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and be ADA-compliant."
A Texas six-hour online drivers ed course must cover:
Traffic laws — signs, signals, and markings.
Factors that cause crashes such as failure to yield, distractions, driving at night, risk-taking, and speeding.
Alcohol and drug awareness.
Driver's ed isn't the only thing you need to get your license, however. After completing the driver's ed course, you will need to take the Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) course, a one-hour educational video on the effects of distracted driving. Once you have your driver's ed and ITYD certificates, you’re ready to take the Texas driver’s test.
How to Choose an Online Driver's Education Course
Be careful when choosing a Texas online driving school. There are many online driving schools out there, but not all of them are legit.
Purcell says the first thing to consider is whether the course is approved by the state. "In Texas, online drivers ed courses are approved by the TDLR. You can search their directory of approved online driving schools to find a reputable course."
The next thing to consider is reviews of the provider. "A quick internet search should yield some online reviews," says Purcell. "If you know someone who has taken a course, get their recommendation."
"Finally, take a look at the provider's website. Does it look professional? Is it easy to navigate and does the interface work well on your preferred device? Does the course allow you to stop and start when you want?"
Why Choose DriversEd.com?
At DriversEd.com, we offer a six-hour online driving course for our adult Texas learners. The course features interactive lessons using videos, 3D animation, and case studies that teach the principles of safe driving, traffic laws, and rules of the road. Studying online is convenient, as it means you can study at your own pace.
Here's what sets us apart:
DriversEd.com pioneered online driver’s education and has a successful 25-year track record.
We’re the only U.S. online driving school approved by the Road Safety Educators' Association and accredited by the Driving School Association of the Americas.
You won’t have to waste time waiting to take a written test at the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The official DPS test is included in our online course.
We verify your identity online. The State of Texas requires that every person who takes an adult online driver’s ed course in Texas provides proof of identity. Several other online driving schools send their students to a notary to have their identification confirmed. This is extra time and an additional fee of $10-$30.
We offer an optional free 30-minute personal coaching session to explain any parts of the course you’re struggling to understand.
In-car lessons are also available at a 10% discount.
Online drivers education is quick and easy. By taking our six-hour online adult driver’s course, you’ll be cruising the Texas highways in no time. Sign up to our Texas Adult Online Driver's Ed Course today.