How to Take California Driver's Ed Online using DriversEd.com
Teens getting ready to apply for a California driver’s license have to first pass a written test, called the knowledge test, and then the road driving test. Passing the road test isn’t always easy in California. Pass rates range from as low as 30% in Santa Monica to 80% in Chula Vista.
That’s why choosing the right driving school is important. DriversEd.com is a leading online driving school that can help you ace both tests quickly and easily. Here’s what to expect when taking our California driver's ed course.
Do All Teens Need a Driver's Ed Course in California?
No. The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires that teens under the age of 17½ take a driver’s ed course. You can start studying a driver’s ed course from 14 years old, but you must be 15½ years old to apply for your learner’s permit. If you’re 18 or older, you don’t have to take a driver’s ed course.
What Does the DriversEd.com Course Cover?
The steps to getting your driver’s license in California are easier than you think. Taking driver's ed online in California with DriversEd.com will prepare you for both the knowledge test and the driving test. Here’s the process.
1. Study for the Knowledge Test
To get your learner’s permit, you’ll need to take an exam that tests your understanding of California’s traffic signs, road rules, and driver safety.
Is California a right-on-red state? What is the speed limit on highways, in business districts, and school zones? When is it safe to overtake a vehicle or make a u-turn?
These are just some examples of traffic safety laws you need to know to pass your test.
Our California DMV-approved driver's ed online course is the fastest way to learn. It takes only 30 hours to complete, and you can learn at your own pace. Spread your lessons over a few weekends or finish it in three days. Our interactive course, with videos and 3-D animations, makes learning easy.
Once you’ve completed the theory, you can take an unlimited number of practice tests to improve your confidence. Practice tests are available in English, Spanish, and Chinese. You can also refer to the California Driver Handbook for additional study.
When you’re ready, book a test at the DMV. The test has 46 multiple-choice questions. You need to answer 38 correctly to pass. If you choose DriversEd.com, we’re confident you’ll pass the first time. If you don’t, we’ll refund your course fee.
2. Prepare for the Driving Test
Once you have your permit, the real fun starts! It’s time to learn to drive. In California, you need a minimum of six months of practical driving experience. Six hours of in-car training must be with a state-approved driving school and 50 hours (of which 10 hours must be at night) should be with a parent or other adult that’s at least 25 years old who has a valid driver’s license.
DriversEd.com offers both online and in-car driving lessons. We also make it easy for parents to provide the correct instruction when teaching their teens to drive. In addition, the California DMV provides guidelines to parents on how to prepare their teens for their driver’s test.
Once you’ve met the above requirements and are 16 years old, it’s time to book your driving test at your local DMV. You’ll need to take the following along:
Your learner’s permit.
Your DriversEd.com Certificate of Completion.
Proof of car insurance.
If you’re 18 or older, you only need your permit and car insurance document.
Now that you know how the California driver's ed online course works, are you ready to start? Sign up for our teen driver’s ed course today. Study the theory and complete your in-car training properly, and we guarantee you’ll pass your test the first time.