How Does the 4-Hour Drug and Alcohol Course Work in Florida?
To obtain your learner’s permit in Florida, you are required to pass the Class E Knowledge exam plus a four-hour drug and alcohol test. All first-time drivers must take the Florida drug and alcohol test, also called Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE). Here’s why Florida has this test and how quick and simple it is to pass with DriversEd.com.
Why Does Florida Have the TLSAE Course?
Impaired driving is a leading cause of traffic fatalities in Florida and taken very seriously by authorities. In 2019, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) recorded 4,935 alcohol-related car crashes. Of those, 367 involved fatalities. In the same year, there were 695 drug-related crashes, of which 360 involved fatalities. Because of this, the Florida Highway Patrol is constantly monitoring roads, and officers are highly trained in spotting impaired drivers.
The good news is that Florida’s impaired driving campaigns and strict law enforcement policies have led to a slight decrease in the number of impaired-driving crashes. Traffic fatalities dropped by 3.6% between 2017 and 2018.
Teens are at a higher risk due to driver inexperience and because they are more likely to engage in reckless behavior like drunk driving. The Florida drug and alcohol course is one way to educate drivers, especially teen drivers, about the dangers of drunk and drug-impaired driving.
Impaired Driving and DUIs in Florida
Impaired driving is not only dangerous, but it can also lead to a DUI charge. If you’re caught driving under the influence in Florida, you can face fines ranging from $500 to $5,000, or your driver’s license may be revoked for 180 days or more. A DUI conviction will remain on your record for 75 years — that’s most of your driving life unless you try to have it expunged.
Florida also has a zero-tolerance approach to underage DUIs. If you’re under the age of 21 and register a 0.02% blood alcohol level, your driver’s license will be suspended immediately for six months. A second offense results in a one-year suspension.
To create awareness around the dangers and penalties of impaired driving, the state of Florida requires that all new drivers take a compulsory four-hour drug and alcohol course before receiving a learner’s permit.
Taking the Four-Hour Drug and Alcohol Course With DriversEd.com
DriversEd.com is a state-approved driving school that offers the four-hour drug and alcohol course. Our Florida Drug and Alcohol course can be completed online in four hours or less. Our interactive lessons make learning a breeze and studying online is convenient.
The course covers the dangers of substance abuse, driving intoxicated, traffic laws, and defensive driving techniques to help avoid collisions.
Passing the Florida drug and alcohol test is the last step before you can apply for your learners permit. Before taking the actual test, you can run through a few practice tests. When you complete the course, we automatically notify the FLHSMV. It takes approximately two days for the state to process this before you can proceed in getting your learner’s permit.
Taking the Florida drug and alcohol course has an additional benefit — it may help lower your car insurance. Teens, in particular, pay higher insurance rates. Many auto insurers are willing to provide a discount to teens who have completed the four-hour drug and alcohol course.
Register for the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course Today
If you’re studying for your learner’s permit, sign up for the four-hour drug and alcohol course at the same time, and you’ll have your permit in hand in no time. What you learn can help you stay safe as you begin driving.