How Do I Get a Georgia Driver’s License?
Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage, no matter your age. In Georgia, residents over the age of 17 have historically not been required to take driver’s education to get a driver’s license. However, as of July 1, 2021, all residents will now be required to complete driver’s education to get a Georgia driver's license.
This change is due to Joshua’s Law, which requires 17-year-olds to show proof of meeting Joshua's Law Driving Training Requirements. Read on to learn how to get a Georgia driver’s license, regardless of age.
How to Apply for a Georgia Driver’s License as a Teen
Georgia’s Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) program allows teen drivers under 17 years old to drive unsupervised, but with restrictions. This type of license is called a provisional (Class D) license. It is granted to Georgia residents who are 16 and 17 years old who have had a driver’s permit for one year and have passed a driver’s test. Georgia residents under the age of 17 who are seeking a Class D driver’s license need to:
Complete a driver’s education course.
Have a valid permit for at least one year.
Complete 40 hours of driving, with at least six hours of night driving. A parent or guardian must certify these hours.
Complete an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) at high school.
Apply in person at a Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) office.
Complete the application (a parent or guardian must be present).
Bring the documentation to verify: identity, date of birth, Social Security number, U.S. citizenship, Georgia residential address.
Bring proof of high school enrollment.
Pass a vision test.
Pay a $10 fee.
Pass the road test.
Once you pass the driver’s test, you will receive a Georgia driver’s license in the mail within 30 days.
How to Apply for a Georgia Driver’s License as an Adult
Whether you are applying for a Georgia driver’s license for the first time or you’re upgrading your teen driver’s license, there are several steps to take before earning a Georgia driver’s license. Georgia residents 18 years of age and older need to apply in person at a Georgia DDS office and complete the following steps to obtain a Class C driver’s license:
Confirm you have completed the driver’s test requirements, which include 40 hours of driving, with six of those hours at night.
Complete the application form.
Pass a vision test.
Bring documentation that verifies: your identity, date of birth, social security number, U.S. citizenship, Georgia residential address.
Pass a written test and a road test.
Surrender your permit and pay the driver’s license fee of $32.
Understanding Joshua’s Law License Requirements
Beginning July 1, 2021, Georgia residents who are 17 years old and under will be required to show proof of completing Joshua’s Law driver’s education requirements. Before this change, Georgia residents who turned 17 were not required to complete driver’s education.
Whether you are a teen or an adult looking to get a Georgia driver’s license, the most critical step is to be educated on Georgia’s driving laws and know the rules of the road. Completing driving school online from an accredited school allows you to take a course that the Georgia DDS approves, meets Joshua’s Law requirements, and can help you complete the required training from anywhere.