How to Ace the Florida Drug and Alcohol Test
The 4-hour drug and alcohol course mandatory for all drivers in Florida (also known as TLSAE) main objective is to make sure all citizens of driving age are well educated and understand the consequences of using drugs and alcohol. The TLSAE course is mandatory for all would-be drivers in the State of Florida. Since substance abuse is a major issue, this course has become more essential.
Approximately 18.1% of Florida teens eventually ride in a car with a driver who has been drinking, and 6.6% of teens will be that driver. In addition, 10.9% of teens drive after using cannabis, and 23.5% of teens end up riding with a driver who has used cannabis.
The Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles bureau wants these behaviors to stop, so the Florida drug and alcohol course is mandatory for all teen drivers. Here's how to prepare for the test so you can ace it on your first try.
1. Enroll in an Accredited Course
The Florida Drug and Alcohol Test for drivers is split into seven modules, so there's a lot of material to master. The only way you can do this with absolute certainty is to enroll in some kind of study course. Online courses are essential, and considering the outbreak of COVID-19, there aren't many in-person options. DriversEd.com offers a course for under $50 to give you all the knowledge necessary and is DHSMV-approved so you won't miss any official information required to pass the test.
2. Test Basics
Here's all the fine print on the test so you can feel more prepared:
The course must be four hours in length, but it may take longer depending on pace
The course does not need to be completed in one sitting, but you only have 180 days to complete or you'll have to start over.
The requirement applies to everyone regardless of age but mostly affects new teen drivers.
You can take the course if you are 14 years of age or older.
You must score at least 80% to pass.
3. What Is on the Test?
Modules on the TLSAE test include cannabis laws, DUI specifics, alcohol toxicity details, and more. Reading up with your selected online course is the best way to educate yourself. You can employ note-taking, notecard quizzes, and even take practice exams through your DriversEd.com course. Here is what you can expect on the test and in your course.
How long it takes for alcohol and drugs to leave the system.
Differences in alcohol and drug effects on men and women.
Fetal alcohol syndrome.
How food relates to slowing the effects of alcohol and drugs.
Mixing drinks and drunkenness.
Blood alcohol content (BAC) testing and breathalyzers.
How drugs and alcohol affect the body and mind while driving.
Vehicle safety (basics, repeated on written driver's exam).
Driver responsibilities (to not get in a car with someone intoxicated, to not drive intoxicated, etc.).
Florida's DUI and alcohol policies and legal ramifications (bulk of test).
You can learn the answers to these questions and more through the DriversEd.com course on the Florida Drug and Alcohol Test.
If you follow these three easy steps as defined by accredited courses and experts, you're sure to do well on the exam and make sound decisions when it comes to drugs and alcohol.