Can I Take Defensive Driving in Texas?
If you received a traffic ticket in Texas, you may have the option to take defensive driving to eliminate points on your record. If you don’t get many tickets, there’s a good chance you will be eligible, but in some cases, you may not.
“In Texas, you can take defensive driving classes if you have a valid state license or permit, you admit guilt to a violation of traffic law, and ask [the court] to take a defensive driving class to dismiss your ticket,” said Daivat Dholakia, director of operations for Force by Mojio, a GPS fleet-tracking company for small businesses around the country, including operators in Texas.
But there are some situations where you can’t take the class. Here’s what you should know.
Basic Requirements for Texas Defensive Driving
The state of Texas allows you to take defensive driving under the following conditions:
You haven’t taken a defensive driving course in the past 12 months
You don’t have a commercial driver’s license
You’re not currently taking a defensive driving class for another violation
You’ll also need to request permission from the court to take a defensive driving course, and in most cases, you can get it without a problem, unless some of the exceptions mentioned above apply to you. And if you are under the age of 18, you can expect the court to require you to take the defensive driving course.
Violations Where You Can't Take Defensive Driving in Texas
You can't take a defensive driving course for all violations. Some are deal-breakers. Traffic violations where you cannot take defensive driving class include:
Passing a school bus or not stopping for one
Not having car insurance when you drive
Construction zone violations
Speeding that exceeds 25 mph above the limit
Hit and run (leaving an accident scene)
Your best bet may be to talk to the court to see if it can make an exception for you. It never hurts to ask, but you’ll want to be extra careful to avoid these types of violations in the first place.
What Happens if You Don't Finish Your Texas Defensive Driving Course?
If you are eligible for the defensive driving course but don’t complete it, your ticket remains on your record for three years. This could increase your insurance rates. The number of points your ticket has depends on the type of moving violation you received. Most violations are either two or three points.
About the Texas Defensive Driving Course
The good thing about taking defensive driving in Texas is that you have online options. Online classes can be done from the comfort and convenience of your home, and you can also study at your own pace.
When signing up for an online course, make sure it’s approved by the state of Texas and meets all the requirements. Good news — the DriversEd.com Texas defensive driving course fits the bill and can be completed in just six hours.
In addition to taking and passing the class, you will need to order your Texas Driving Record and pay your court fees and ticket fine. The class certificate will dismiss the points on your record, but you still need to pay all fines and fees associated with the violation. Also, when you order your driving record, there are several options. Some records go back a few years, while others include your entire driving history. Make sure you know which one your court requires before you order.
If you do choose to use DriversEd.com's online Texas defensive driving class, you’ve picked a great option that offers you customer support seven days a week. We’ve helped thousands of drivers eliminate points from their driving records. Let us help you!