How many hours of Colorado driving school do you need?
Learning to drive is one of the great joys of becoming a teenager. And for parents of teens who are seeking to get their license in Colorado, driving instructor Ed Overfied has one big piece of advice.
“When you’re teaching your student to drive, always remember that you are driving the car, not them," he said.
Parents, make sure you read that again. "You are driving the car from the passenger seat, you are responsible for their safety and the safety of others on the road," he reiterated.
Keeping that in mind, let's go over the steps to secure a license in Colorado.
1. Learner's Permits
According to the Colorado DMV, if you are acquiring a learner's permit between the ages of 15 and 16, then you'll need to take 30 hours of driver's ed in Colorado. This is where online Colorado driving school programs can come in handy. With school, sports practice, clubs, and other high school activities, it can be difficult to complete the courses at an in-person school.
Of course, our favorite online option is DriversEd, because we are America's number one driving school and pride ourselves on the structure and integrity of our courses. You can learn the rules of the road with unlimited practice tests, step-by-step instructions, and engaging online videos and interactive coursework that won't bore you as you learn the important, often life-saving information related to driving.
“Choose a driving school that lets you attend the lesson," said Overfield. "Middle priced schools are always better than the cheapest schools. Practice with your child in the car, and advance from residential areas to city areas on early Saturday or Sunday mornings.”
2. Drivers 16 to 17
Drivers over the age of 16 but not yet 17 are required to extensively study the driver's manual of Colorado and take a written exam. When the exam is passed, you can then secure your permit. Although the 30 hours of Colorado driving school is not required by law, the Colorado DMV recommends that you complete some training in a formal or online setting.
When you arrive for your exam, don't forget these important documents. Here's a handy link to make sure you can take your test and secure your permit without having to return to the DMV a second time.
3. Drivers 18 and Over
Once you are over the age of 18, no formal driver's education is required; however, strong studying is encouraged so you are well-versed in the rules of the road before you take your written exam. Keep in mind that you will not be able to gain a permit or take your driving test without successfully passing the written exam.
Remember Your Documents: There is nothing worse than showing up to the DMV and realizing that you have forgotten your all-important identification documents. Use our resource list here to make sure you arrive prepared to take your written or driving exam on your appointment day.
Know Where You're Going: Don't be late! The DMV's appointment times are getting more and more scarce. If you arrive late or get lost on the way, you may end up having to reschedule. That's why you should look up the location of your DMV before heading out. Here's a handy list to help you pick the location most convenient for you.
Practice Makes Perfect: Don't go into your driver's exam cold turkey. Take a practice test! Use our practice exam to make sure that you're totally prepared, and going through the test at the DMV will be a breeze.