Move to a new place in the Lone Star State? Don't forget to update your address! The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) gives you 30 days to change your address after you've moved. Here's how you go about it.
How to Change Your Address on Your Texas License
If you need to change your address on a Texas driver's license, you have a few options. Keep in mind, you'll use the same process if you need to update your name or gender. You can opt to change your address via:
Online: To update your address online, you'll have to meet a few eligibility requirements. For one, your driver's license can't be expired, suspended, revoked, or disqualified. If it's expired, you'll have to renew it first. Additionally, you must be at least 18 years old, have your Social Security number on file with DPS, and have an internet browser that supports 128-bit encryption. If you qualify, this is a super easy and convenient way to make the update.
By mail: If you prefer to make the change by mail, doing so also requires you to meet a few eligibility requirements. You must be a U.S. citizen with an active and valid non-commercial driver's license. Plus, you need to be at least 18 years old with a Social Security number on file with the DPS. If you qualify, you can fill out the required application and send it to the department.
In-person: If the above methods don't work for you, you can complete the required application and take it to a driver's license location nearest you.
Along with your application, you will also be required to pay an $11 fee, or $10 if you submit it by mail.
Can I Have an Alternate Address on My License if I'm a Peace Officer?
Yes, peace officers are allowed to have an address other than their residential address printed on their driver's licenses. However, you must meet several eligibility requirements, including being commissioned in Texas and being currently employed by a law enforcement agency. This option is also available to:
U.S. Attorneys and their families
U.S. Marshals and their families
State judges and their families
Federal judges and their families
Note, if you need to change your address to an alternate address, you will be required to do so in person at a driver's license office near you.
What if You Change Your Address After 30 Days?
If, after moving, you miss the 30-day window to change your address, you may have to pay a late fee. Further, you may be given a ticket if found out by law enforcement.
Attend Online Texas Driving School with DriversEd.com!
Whether you're a new driver looking to get your Texas driver's license or an experienced driver who needs to take a defensive driving course, Driver'sEd.com has convenient, online courses to check the box. Teens can complete their driver's ed when it fits into their schedule and can be connected with a professional driving instructor for in-car driving lessons. Further, adults who are looking to save on their car insurance or get a ticket dismissed can complete the DPS-approved defensive driving course from their phone or computer.
Getting the driver's education you need no longer requires long days in a classroom. Check out the flexible and affordable courses available for Texans with DriversEd.com!