Oklahoma DPS Disabled Persons Plates

Check the Location & Hours

Oklahoma Drivers Ed

Get On the Road to Safety With DriversEd.com

Practice Permit Test

Pass your Oklahoma permit test the first time!

Insurance Discount Course

Adult drivers ed online is for anyone 18 or older. Take this course to learn about driving safety and earn an insurance discount!

Home / DPS Information / Oklahoma / Disabled Plates

Living with a disability that restricts movement can be a burden. Society is trying to relieve this burden by providing specialized services for the physically impaired. Disabled person's parking spaces are designed to ensure that physically challenged individuals have equal opportunity to use various public and private facilities and are not put at a disadvantage by a medical condition.

If you wish to use a disabled person's parking spaces, you must possess a handicapped person placard issued by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. At the moment, the DPS issues two types of placards:

  • 5 years placards
  • Temporary placards for up to six months.

In order to be eligible for a handicapped person placard, you must have one of the following conditions:

  1. Cannot walk two hundred (200) feet without stopping to rest
  2. Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistant device
  3. Is restricted to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one (1) second, when measured by spirometry, is less than sixty (60) mm/hg on room air at rest, or
  4. Must use portable oxygen
  5. Has functional limitations which are classified in severity as class iii or class iv according to standards set by the American Heart Association
  6. Is severely limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
  7. Is certified legally blind
  8. Is missing one or more limbs which impair mobility.

If you wish to apply for a placard, you must fill out a Handicap Parking Placard application form, have you doctor sign it, and mail it with a one dollar check to the address provided on the form. Processing of your application takes approximately ten business days and, if your application is approved, the DPS mails a certificate to your home address.

You may use a placard in any one vehicle operated by you or in which you are a passenger. The placard must be attached to the rearview mirror of the vehicle and presented to any law enforcement officer upon request.

To qualify for a Physically Disabled License Plate, you must have a current 5-year parking placard from the Department of Public Safety.

Temporary placards do not qualify.

All Physically Disabled License Plates are issued for a period on one year. Applications must be submitted to the Oklahoma Tax Commission. Note: the application must be completed in the same name as your placard.

Physically Disabled License Plate Application

Note: This article was accurate when it was published. Please confirm all details directly with the OK DPS. You can visit the OK DPS website or call the DPS for more information.

DriversEd.com is a privately held company and is in no way associated with the Department of Motor Vehicles, any other government agency, or the driving schools listed in this website. All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. DriversEd.com does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages.