$68.95

Oklahoma Teen Drivers Ed FAQ

Earning a Oklahoma drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.

You've got questions, and DriversEd.com has the answers. Need information about the specifics of permits and licenses in Oklahoma? Just want to know a lot more about what we can do for you? Read on!

How It Works

Once you create an account (it takes less than a minute), you're all set to start our approved Oklahoma drivers ed course. The course includes the online drivers ed class and behind-the-wheel lessons to guide parents through the supervised in-car training.

Log in and out whenever you want from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. Compare that to driving to and from class.

There will be a final online exam, but don't worry—you can take it as many times as you need and review the course material as much as you want. Once you pass the test and complete your in-car driving lessons, we'll mail your Certificate of Completion within 1 business day. Shipment by USPS First Class Mail is free, but you can always upgrade the delivery method.

Please note that any parent enrolling a student in Oklahoma Parent-Taught Drivers Education must download the PTDE packet to apply as a Parent Instructor before starting the course.

Step 1: Take a DPS-approved Oklahoma drivers ed course

In Oklahoma, to be eligible for a learners permit, you must be at least 15½ years old. If you are under 16, you must either:

  • Be participating in the Parent-Taught Drivers Education Program. This program allows the student to take the classroom portion of drivers education online and allows parents to provide the necessary 55 hours of in-car training, OR
  • Be currently taking or have completed an approved drivers education course and be able to show proof of drivers education enrollment signed by your instructor.

DriversEd.com is an Oklahoma DPS-approved provider for the Parent-Taught Drivers Education Program. After completing our online drivers education course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion, needed to ultimately earn your Oklahoma drivers license.

Step 2: Study for the Oklahoma learners permit test

In order to get the learners permit and eventually the Oklahoma drivers license, everyone no matter how old must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DPS.

A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online Oklahoma DPS practice permit tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.

Fifty online practice permit tests come free with our Oklahoma drivers education course.

Step 3: Apply for the Oklahoma learners permit

When you are ready to take your written permit test, save time by scheduling your test appointment at your local Oklahoma Drivers License Exam Station.

To apply for your learners permit, you must:

  1. Be at least 15½ years old.
  2. Bring proper identification. For the list of all the acceptable documents, see the Oklahoma Drivers Manual.
  3. Provide your Social Security number.
  4. Present one of the following:
    • Proof of enrollment in a secondary or vocational-technical school on a form provided by your school
    • Proof of an excused absence on a form provided by your school. Proof of enrollment and satisfactory progress in a program leading to a Certificate of High School Equivalency (General Equivalency Diploma: GED) on a form provided by the Department of Public Safety
    • Proof of home schooling on a form provided by the Department of Public Safety
    • Proof that you have completed a GED
    • Your high school diploma
    • Proof of employment if you are working a minimum of 24 hours a week

      Note that all forms provided by the schools must be typed. Each signature block must have an original signature and school seal (no stamped signatures).

  5. If you are under 18, bring documentation of reading proficiency on a form provided by an approved school.
  6. If under 16, submit a drivers education completion certificate (i.e., green card from drivers education) or a Certificate of Completion of drivers education from a commercial school or a parent-taught drivers education course approved by the Department of Public Safety.
  7. Have the application co-signed by a parent or a legal guardian at the time of application.
  8. Pass a vision test.
  9. Pass a written driver knowledge test.

Once you pass the written test, you will be issued a learners permit.

Your learners permit has the following restrictions:

  • You can only drive with a licensed driver 21 or older and who has been licensed for at least 2 years sitting in the seat beside the driver.
  • You can only drive during daylight hours, except to and from work, school, and church-related activities or anytime with a parent or guardian in front seat of vehicle.
  • No more than one passenger is allowed in the car with you, unless they live in the same household or unless a parent or guardian is in front seat of the vehicle.
Step 4: Practice driving under supervision

Once you have your learners permit and if you are under 18, you will need hold your learners permit for at least 6 months and must complete at least 6 hours of in-car driving lessons with a licensed instructor (unless you are participating in the Parent-Taught Drivers Education program).

If you are under 18, you must also get at least 30 hours (10 at night) of supervised practice driving. If you are participating in the PTDE program, 55 hours are required.

Step 5: Taking the driving test for the Oklahoma drivers license

When you are ready to take the driving test, make an appointment at an Oklahoma Drivers License Exam Station near you.

In order to be eligible for the drivers license, you must:

  1. Be at least 16 years old.
  2. Have held your learners permit for at least 6 months (30 days if 18 or older). You can take the test only 3 times after date of eligibility. After that, you can take the test only once every 3 months.
  3. Have no traffic convictions on your driving record.
  4. Submit a notarized Affidavit of Driver Training signed by a parent or legal guardian that confirms at least 55 hours of supervised driving experience was completed.
  5. Pass a driving test.
  6. Bring a vehicle and valid proof of auto liability insurance if you are taking the driving test.

Once you pass the driving test, if you are under 18, you will be issued a restricted intermediate license.

The following restrictions will apply to your intermediate license:

  • You can only drive during daylight hours (5 a.m. to 11 p.m.), except to and from work, school, and church-related activities or unless accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.
  • You can have no more than one passenger in the car with you, unless they live in the same household or unless a parent or guardian is in the front seat of vehicle.

To get your unrestricted drivers license, you must either:

  • Have an Intermediate License for at least 6 months and no traffic convictions on your driving record, or
  • Be at least 18 years old and pass all driving and vision exams.

Course Eligibility

If you're under 16 and planning to obtain an Oklahoma learners permit, you'll need to complete a DPS-approved drivers education course.

DriversEd.com's online course is DPS-approved and fulfills the Oklahoma parent-taught drivers education requirement. But no matter how old you are, if you want to learn about driving in Oklahoma and plan to obtain an Oklahoma drivers license, you can take this course.

Yes. Our course is DPS-approved as a parent-taught drivers education (PTDE) course and is equivalent to the regular 30-hour, in-class drivers education course.

The Oklahoma Parent-Taught Drivers Education (PTDE) program is a DPS-approved alternative to drivers education in a conventional classroom. This program lets teens take their drivers education course online (with DPS-approved providers) and lets parents provide the 55 hours of behind-the-wheel lessons.

The parent/guardian also plays an active role in the learning process and supervises the student's progress in the online course.

To participate in PTDE, the parent/guardian must first submit a Parent-Taught Driver Education Affidavit to the DPS. This form can be found at the end of the PTDE Information Packet.

IMPORTANT: The student may not begin the DriversEd.com Oklahoma online course until the parent has been accepted by the DPS as a parent-instructor and receives an authorization number. You will be asked to enter this authorization number in your DriversEd.com account in order to proceed with the course.

Drivers Education is a class that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, etc., so you're ready to pass your written permit test. Our Oklahoma drivers education course is DPS-approved so new drivers under 15 ½ can complete their class entirely online.

Drivers Training is the in-car driving lessons with a licensed driving instructor. In Oklahoma, if you are under 15 ½, you must enroll in 6 hours of drivers training to take the learners permit (provisional instruction permit) written test and complete those 6 hours to take your road test later on.

Note: If you are participating in the Parent-Taught Drivers Education program your parent-instructor can provide drivers training. Read more about the PTDE program.

Course Information

That depends on your individual pace. In Oklahoma, all drivers education courses must be at least 30 hours. The good news is that with DriversEd.com, you can always go at your pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time flies if you do 20 minutes here and there!

After payment, your free practice permit tests will become accessible from your online DriversEd.com account.

After you complete the DriversEd.com course, we will mail your Certificate of Completion free of charge and within 1 business day of your course completion. All certificates are mailed via First Class Mail unless otherwise requested by the student.

Of course. You can upgrade your delivery method in your DriversEd.com account or by calling us at 888-651-2886.

If you lose your certificate, you can request a duplicate by calling us at 888-651-2886.

No. If you are taking our online course, then you are participating in the Parent-Taught Drivers Education program and this means that your parents can provide you with behind-the-wheel instruction. What is drivers training?

Pricing and Payment

The cost for our Oklahoma online drivers education course is

The DriversEd.com course fee covers your online Oklahoma drivers education course, a DPS-recognized Certificate of Completion sent to you by First Class Mail, and 50 free practice permit tests to help you prepare for your written permit test.

Once you complete the course, you also get unlimited access to the course material—that means you can review the course for as long as you need!

You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.

Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.

If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:

DriversEd.com
Attn: Billing Dept.
P.O. Box 238
Oakland, CA 94604-0238

Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your course account.

Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we promise never to share your information with anyone else.

Refund Policy

It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.

../