Learn on any device or from the comfort of your own home! Sign up for Idaho Drivers Ed today!
One of the first big milestones for a teen is receiving their driver's license. Though the journey to getting that license involves some time and takes a few steps, nothing is overly difficult. Idaho, like many states, has a Graduated Driver's Licensing (GDL) program that teens must follow to obtain an unrestricted Idaho driver's license.
These steps include getting a learner's permit, taking a drivers ed course and adhering to the driving restrictions that are in place for each stage of the process. These steps are designed to help you become a skilled and safe driver and will reduce the chances that you will be involved in an accident.
If you have recently moved to Idaho, and you are younger than 17 and don't have your license yet, you will need to take a state-approved drivers education course or show proof that you have completed it in whatever state you moved from.
If you're younger than 17 and you already have your driver's license that was issued in another state, you won't have to worry about taking the drivers education course and you will not have to have a supervised driving period.
The first step in the getting an Idaho driver's license is to get a Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP). You must be at least 14½ to get this permit.
When you go to the driver's license office to get your SIP, you will need to bring the following documents:
Your parent or legal guardian will need to be present to sign the required consent form.
Once you have obtained your SIP the next step in the getting an Idaho driver's license is to enroll in an approved drivers ed course. This course can be taken in high school or through a professional driving school. During the drivers ed course you will have 6 hours of behind the wheel training along with classroom instruction.
Before you move to step three you need to complete your drivers education course, complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving time with a licensed driver over 21 years of age. These 50 hours must include 10 hours of night driving.
You will need to have your driver's permit for at least 6 months after you have completed your drivers ed course or until you turn 17. After drivers ed is completed you must only drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and they must be in the front seat next to you. Any passengers must be wearing seat belts or be in car seats if applicable. Always have your learner's permit with you when you are practicing.
Once you have turned 15, have completed your required 50 hours of driving time and have had your learner's permit for at least 6 months and have not had any traffic tickets or violations of your learner's permit restrictions you can apply for the Idaho underage driver's license. This underage driver's license will be good until 5 days after your 18th birthday.
When you go to the DMV to apply for your underage driver's license you will need the following:
Make sure your parent or legal guardian brings you to the office so they can sign the consent form. Your parent or guardian must bring a valid form of ID as well.
You will need to take and pass a written test and a driving test to get your underage driver's license. There are several GDL restrictions that you must adhere to when you have an underage driver's license. Make sure that you adhere to ALL of these restrictions without fail. Failure to do so will result in penalties that could push back your date to receive your full, unrestricted driver's license.
You will need to renew your underage driver's license, which means you'll receive an unrestricted Idaho driver's license. While there are several steps involved in getting your driver's license, it will all be worth the wait once you're safely and legally behind the wheel.