Georgia Driving Lessons Requirements for Teens
When it comes to getting your license in Georgia, drivers of different ages are required to meet different standards. Before you gear up to take your driving exam, it's important that you understand the Georgia driving lessons requirements as they apply to you.
If You're 16...
If you're applying for a Georgia driver's license at 16, you'll be required to complete a state-approved driver education program. The program, which is offered through a variety of providers, includes two parts:
- The theoretical component can be completed in the classroom or online. It consists of at least 30 hours of instruction that take students through everything from highway signs to what to do if you're in an accident. If you opt to complete the theoretical component online, be sure to choose a state-approved provider that meets Georgia's Joshua's Law requirements like DriversEd.com.
- The practical component consists of behind-the-wheel training conducted by either a state-certified instructor or a parent using Georgia's complimentary Parent/Teen Driving Guide. Both options have their benefits. Practicing with a parent might feel more comfortable for some young drivers, plus there are no costs involved. You will, however, need to keep a thorough record of your practice sessions. Professional instructors, on the other hand, often have years of experience and they know how to prepare you for your driving exam. Some new drivers also prefer starting out in the vehicle that professional instructors typically provide which feature controls on both sides of the dashboard so that the instructor can take control in the event of an emergency.
If you're 16, you'll also need to complete at least 40 additional hours of supervised driving, including at least six hours at night, before you'll be able to get your license.
If You're 17 or Older...
Georgia drivers lessons requirements are a bit more relaxed if you're 17 or older. You won't be required to prove you completed a formal driver education course. While not required, however, driving lessons can still be beneficial for motorists of any age ... particularly those worried about passing their driving exam or concerned about driving in high-traffic areas like Atlanta.
Though you may not need to take a formal driver education course, you'll still need to complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least six hours at night, before you can get your license at 17.
What Are the Benefits of Driver Education?
Though the Georgia driving lessons requirements might sound like a bummer if you're 16, keep in mind that there are many benefits to taking a driver education course. They include:
- Learning lifelong safe driving skills.
- Being prepared to pass your driving test.
- Possibly even lower insurance rates ... have your parents check with their agent to see if you'll qualify.