Schedule Your Lessons with Our Partnered DMV Licensed Instructors.
The process of earning your license in Georgia might feel tricky, but you've got DriversEd.com on your side! Check below for answers to questions nearly everyone asks about online drivers education, behind the wheel training, and Georgia-specific requirements.
Teens Under 18
If you're under 18 years old and want to earn your license, the DDS requires that you take some form of in-car training. You have two options:
Which way is right for you? It comes down to two important things: convenience and safety. When you take 6 hours of training with a driving school like ours, you meet your requirement faster, and you can simply drive the 40 hours with a licensed driver at your leisure. More importantly, however, you get the benefit of learning from a driving professional, who can show you the most up-to-date safety techniques and teach you maneuvers and skills that will keep you safe for a lifetime of driving.
As an added bonus, when you take your drivers training with a DDS-licensed driving school like ours, your parents are eligible for a $150 state income tax credit (see Code Section 48-7-20) and you can earn an insurance discount for up to three years! With the tax credit and an insurance discount, these lessons pay for themselves!
When you take the 40 hour parent training option, you need to make room in your schedule and keep very detailed notes with the Parent-Teen Driving Guide. Additionally, when you finish the guide, you need to have it signed by a notary public before you can take it to the DDS.
Adults 18 and Older
If you're over 18, you aren't required to take in-car driving lessons, but there are still many reasons to do so, including:
Whatever your goals, our in-car driving lessons ensure you have the necessary basic driving skills you need, the road skills the DDS will test you on during your driving skills test, and the essential defensive driving skills to be a safe driver in Georgia.
If you're under 18, after you've completed the drivers ed theory class, the DDS requires that you take some form of drivers training in order to take your DDS road test. At DriversEd.com, you can match with our partners to sign up for six hours of in-car driving lessons to receive a Certificate of Completion for the in-car driving lessons, followed by 40 hours of driving experience under supervision by a licensed driver. This Certificate of Completion is needed to take your written DDS driving test.
No problem! Driving lessons can be used to work on your driving level and exact needs. Licensed instructors work with you, coaching you for as many hours as needed to help you gain the driving skills you need.
There are two options available to you:
Joshua's Law (Under 18)
After you complete drivers education and before you can take your drive test, if you are under 18, you have two drivers training options: 6 hours with a professional driving school followed by 40 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver OR 40 hours of parent taught training with use of the DDS Parent-Teen Driving Guide.
Once you pass the written test and have your permit, you're ready to schedule your first in-car driving lessons with us.
If you're 15 or older, you can take your DDS permit test at any time. Once you pass the permit test and have your permit, you can start in-car driving lessons.
Your permit gives you the ability to not only take in-car driving lessons with an instructor but to practice driving with parents after each professional lesson.
Remember, when you take the Joshua's Law course in Georgia your parents receive a tax credit and most insurance companies provide you with an insurance discount once you complete this training.
With a Permit (18 and older)
All you need to do is get your learners permit to begin. Go to your local DDS office with complete identification and take the written and signs tests.
You are not required to take the theory course or in-car driving lessons, but it is to your advantage and will make you a confident and safe driver.
We make learning convenient and easy for you. Enjoy the option of being picked up at home or school. Each adult driving lesson is 2 hours long, and you can pay for as many lessons as you like.
Because everyone has different reasons for taking drivers training, we first find out what you want to gain from in-car driving lessons.
Our experienced instructors will then quickly evaluate your skill level and outline a training program that will help you achieve your driving goals.
If you are under 18, you have two drivers training options: 6 hours with a professional driving school followed by 34 hours of additional driving practice OR 40 hours of parent taught training with use of the DDS Parent-Teen Driving Guide.
If you are over 18, the number of hours you require depends on your goals, driving skills, and comfort level on the road. Most adult drivers require anywhere from 4-12 hours depending on their specific needs.
Not at all. You can sign up for as many hours as you want. For your convenience, you can take individual lessons of 2 hours at a time. Packages come in groups of 6 hours, so feel free to schedule your 2-hour lessons in advanced, or as your schedule allows.
You learn to drive with licensed instructors who will patiently teach you:
The price of in-car driving lessons will vary by area and depends on the cost of gas, insurance, etc. in your area. To find out how much in-car driving lessons are in your area, click here and enter your zip code.
Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we'll never share your information with anyone else.
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with 1 month of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
Here's how it works:
What you'll get:
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
Simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance support team, and a Customer Experience agent will help you out!
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
Refund requests made after fifteen (15) days are subject to a $25.00 cancellation fee. All refunds will be prorated for unused lessons (minus no-show fees). We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.