Colorado Drivers Ed Online


$49.50

DMV-Licensed Course from the Drivers Ed Authority

Earning a Colorado drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.

You've got questions, and DriversEd.com has the answers. Need information about the specifics of permits and licenses in Colorado? Just want to know a lot more about what we can do for you? Read on!

How It Works

Just create an account (it takes less than a minute), and you're all set to start our licensed Colorado drivers ed course.

Log in and out whenever you want; from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. Compare that to spending your weekends in a classroom!

There will be a final exam, but don't worry-you can take it as many times as you need and review the course material as much as you want. Once you pass the test, we'll mail your Affidavit of Completion within 1 business day. Shipment by USPS First Class Mail is free, but you can always upgrade the delivery method.

Step 1: Complete a DMV-licensed Colorado drivers education course

In Colorado, the type of permit you get depends on your age. If you are between 15 and 15½ years old when you apply for your permit, you'll receive a Driver Education Permit. In order to qualify for your permit when you're 15, you need to complete a Colorado drivers education course and receive an Affidavit of Completion.

As of April 23, 2007, if you are at least 14½ years old, you can take your Colorado drivers education course entirely online with DriversEd.com and receive the necessary DMV-recognized Affidavit of Completion.

Step 2: Study for the Colorado learners permit / instruction permit test

In order to get the instruction permit and eventually the Colorado drivers license, everyone no matter how old must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DMV.

A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online Colorado permit practice tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.

Fifty online practice permit tests come free with our Colorado drivers education course.

Step 3: Apply for the Colorado learners permit / instruction permit

Apply for your instruction permit at your local Drivers License Office. No appointment is necessary for the written permit test. Make sure to arrive early enough so that you have plenty of time to complete the process before the office closes.

Note: You must apply for your instruction permit within 6 months of the completion date listed on your Affidavit of Completion, or else you must retake the entire course and final exam to receive a new Affidavit of Completion.

To be eligible for the Colorado instruction permit, you must:
  • Submit two of the following forms of identification (photocopies or notarized copies are not accepted):
    • Certified State or County Birth Certificate
    • United States Certificate of Birth Abroad
    • Valid Passport
    • Valid Military Identification Card
    • Native American Tribal Identification Card
    • Resident Alien Identification Card
    • Naturalization Certificate
    • Valid Foreign Passport with Immigration Visa/I-94
  • Provide your Social Security number.
  • Pass a vision exam.
  • Pay the required fee.
  • Submit an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (DR 2460) signed by a parent or stepparent and verified by either a drivers license employee or a Notary Public.
  • Present an Affidavit of Completion of Driver Education Course (DR 2956) from an approved drivers education provider specifying that you have completed the classroom portion of the drivers education course within the last 6 months.
  • Pass a written permit test.

Once you pass the written permit test, you'll be issued a Driver Education Permit if you are younger than 15 years and 6 months old. If you are between 15 years 6 months and 16 years old, you'll get a Drivers Awareness Permit and if you're 16 to 21 years old, you will be issued a Minor Instruction Permit. All three permit types expire three years from the date of issue.

Instruction Permit Restrictions
If you are under 18, you can drive with a drivers education instructor or with a licensed, responsible adult at least 21 years old. However, you may only log the 50 hours of drive time with the person(s) who signed the DR2460.

When driving with an instruction permit, you cannot use a "mobile communication device" (e.g., a cell phone) except when you're trying to contact the police or fire department, it's an emergency, or you've already parked your vehicle.

Step 4: Take drivers training and practice driving under supervision

If you are under 18, you must hold your permit for at least 12 months and must do both of the following before applying for the drivers license:

  1. Complete 6 hours of in-car driving lessons with a professional driving instructor from an approved driving school (if you got your permit between the ages of 15 and 16½). At the age of 16½, in-car driving lessons are no longer required.
    Students in the outlying areas of the state, please note: if there is no approved behind-the-wheel training course offering at least 20 hours a week from a permanent location with an address that is within 30 miles of the permit holder's residence, then the student may complete a minimum of 12 hours of in-car driving lessons with a parent, legal guardian, or an alternate permit supervisor instead of 6 hours with a professional driving instructor.
  2. Complete an additional 50 hours of practice driving, 10 hours of which must take place at night. Keep track of the hours of your supervised driving on the Drive Time Log Sheet. Your parent or guardian (the same person who signed the DR 2460, Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship for you to get your permit) must verify the total driving time and total night driving time on your log sheet(s).
Step 5: Take the driving test for your Colorado drivers license

When you are ready to take the driving test, make an appointment at your local Department of Motor Vehicles.

To be eligible to take your driving test, you must:
  1. Be at least 16 years old.
  2. Be fingerprinted and photographed.
  3. Have held your instruction permit for at least 12 months (if under 18).
  4. Present a completed and signed Drive Time Log Sheet (if under 18). You must show 50 hours of driving experience; 10 hours of which must have been at night. Your parent or guardian (the same person who signed the DR 2460, Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship for you to get your permit) must verify total driving time and total night driving time on your log sheet(s).
  5. Have completed 6 hours of in-car driving lessons with a licensed instructor (if you got your original permit between the ages of 15 and 16½).

Once you pass your driving test, you will be issued a minor drivers license, which will expire 20 days after you turn 21.

If you are under 18, your license will have the following restrictions:
  1. You are not allowed to carry a passenger under 21 who is not a family member until you have had your license for at least six months.
  2. You are not allowed to carry more than one passenger under 21 who is not a family member until you have held your license for at least one year.

While you are under 18, you cannot drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless you have held your license for at least one year.

If you are between the ages of 15 and 15½ and are planning to obtain a Colorado learners permit (driver awareness permit), you'll need to complete a DMV-approved drivers education course.

DriversEd.com's online course is DMV-approved and fulfills the Colorado drivers education requirement for new drivers under 15½. But no matter how old you are, if you want to learn about driving in Colorado and plan to obtain a Colorado drivers license, you can take this course.

Yes. Our course is DMV-approved and is equivalent to the regular 30-hour, in-class drivers education course.

Drivers Education is a class that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, etc., so you're ready to pass your written permit test. Our Colorado drivers education course is DMV-approved so new drivers can complete their class completely online.

Drivers Training is the in-car driving lessons with a licensed driving instructor. In Colorado, if you are under 15½ years old, after you complete your drivers education course, you must also take 6 hours of drivers training. These 6 hours of drivers training are not included in our drivers education course.

Course Information

That depends on your individual pace. In Colorado, all drivers education courses must be at least 30 hours. The good news is that with DriversEd.com, you can always go at your own pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time flies if you do 20 minutes here and there!

After payment, your free practice permit tests will become accessible from your online DriversEd.com account.

Please note that your course completion will be reported electronically to the DMV within 1 business day.

A copy of the completion report will be sent to your email

Colorado law requires that all new drivers holding a drivers education permit (the permit for minors between 15 and 15½ years old) take at least 6 hours of drivers training (i.e., in-car driving lessons). Please note, these 6 hours of drivers training are not included in our drivers education course.

You can complete 6 hours of drivers training with any approved driving school or 12 hours with a parent, guardian, or alternate permit supervisor if there is no approved driving school offering at least 20 hours of drivers training per week within 30 miles of your home.

Pricing and Payment

The cost for our Colorado drivers education online course is .

The DriversEd.com course fee covers your online Colorado drivers education course, a DMV-recognized Affidavit of Completion sent to you by First Class Mail, and 50 free practice permit tests to help you prepare for your written permit test.

Once you complete the course, you also get unlimited access to the course material—that means you can review the course for as long as you need!

You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.

Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.

If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:

DriversEd.com Attn: Billing Dept. P.O. Box 238 Oakland, CA 94604-0238

Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your course account.

Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we promise never to share your information with anyone else.

Refund Policy

It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.

../