Looking to get your permit soon? Take our Florida Drivers Ed course today and save a trip to Florida Driver & Vehicle Services!
State-Authorized 4-Hour TLSAE Course Is the Fastest Option for new drivers!
Save Time. Save Money. Learn How to Drive Safe. Everything you need for your permit!
If you've never taken a course with Florida-authorized driving school. Just create a free account. If you're already a Florida-authorized driving school student, click here to log in and register for your Florida teen drivers ed course. Then you'll be all set to start our authorized Florida drivers ed course. Once you start, you'll be on the road to completing your First Time Driver/TLSAE requirement.
Log in and out whenever you want, from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. Compare that to spending your weekends in a classroom!
At the end of the course, there'll be a final exam. Don't worry though—you'll have unlimited access to review the course material as much as you need. Once you take the test and pass, you'll receive a state-authorized waiver certificate that covers your 4-hour First Time Driver/Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) requirement.
In order to get your Florida learners license, all first time drivers (regardless of age) must fulfill a First Time Driver/Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course (TLSAE) requirement.
DriversEd.com, in partnership with Florida driving offices, offers a Florida drivers ed course that satisfies the TLSAE requirement and earns you half a school credit. When you complete our course, you will receive a waiver certificate for the TLSAE, which is required in order to earn your Florida learners permit and ultimately your Florida drivers license.
Note: you must be a Florida student between the ages of 14½-18 to qualify for this course. For more information about student requirements, please visit the Florida Virtual School webpage.
In order to get the Florida learners permit and eventually the Florida drivers license, everyone no matter how old must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to Driver & Vehicle Services.
A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online Florida Driver & Vehicle Services practice permit tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.
Apply for your learners permit at your local Driver & Vehicle Services office.
Note: all documents provided to FL Driver & Vehicle Services must be originals or certified copies.
After you pass the written exam, you'll be issued a learners license to practice driving. Your learners license will carry the following restrictions:
After you earn your learners license, you'll need to practice driving under supervision. If you're under 18, you will need to hold your learners license for at least 12 months during which time you must complete at least 50 hours (10 at night) of practice driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
Note: in Florida, Driver & Vehicle Services does not require new drivers to take in-car driving lessons with a driving school. However, for your safety and the safety of those around you, DriversEd.com strongly recommends that you take driving lessons with a licensed driving school.
Once you are ready to take the driving test, schedule your driving skills test at your local Driver & Vehicle Services office.
Once you pass the driving skills test, you'll be issued your operator's license or Class E license for a fee of $20.
Students can also choose to complete their drivers license tests through Driver & Vehicle Services-authorized Drivers Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP) courses in participating public or private schools. After taking the drivers license test, the drivers education teacher will enter the student's results into FL Driver & Vehicle Services records.
These results will be used by the local drivers license office for issuance of a learners driver license or Class E drivers license. FL Driver & Vehicle Services may, however, test any student on a random basis before issuing a drivers license.
Operators License Restriction If you are 16 years old:
If you are 17 years old:
All first-time drivers (minimum age 15) must take a Florida drivers education course in order to get a Florida learners permit. Florida Driver & Vehicle Services calls this Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE).
Our course not only satisfies your First Time Driver/TLSAE requirement, but it earns you half a school credit as well.
So if you're 14½-18 years old and want to learn about driving in Florida and plan to obtain a Florida drivers license, you can take this course.
Yes. Upon successful completion of this drivers education course, you will receive a waiver certificate which fulfills your First Time Driver/TLSAE (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) requirement.
Drivers Education is a class that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, etc., so you're ready to pass your written learners permit test. Our Florida drivers education course will provide you a waiver certificate that fulfills the 4-hour requirement for first time drivers.
Drivers Training is the in-car driving lessons with a licensed driving instructor. In Florida, drivers training is not mandatory.
However, it's always a good idea to take lessons with an experienced, licensed instructor. If you want, you can find a local driving school here.
This Florida drivers ed course is provided through Florida-authorized driving school. If you're new to Florida-authorized driving school, just create a free account to get started. (You'll have to enroll with a Florida-authorized driving school, later: check out this video on how to apply.)
If you're a current or past Florida driving student, click here to log in and register for your Florida teen drivers ed course.
That depends on your individual pace. The good news is that you can always go at your pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time can fly if you do 20 minutes here and there!
Once you successfully complete the course, the Florida-authorized driving school will issue you a waiver certificate to satisfy this requirement. You'll be one step closer to getting on the road!
There is no drivers training requirement in Florida, but it's always a good idea to take in-car driving lessons with a professional driving instructor. Find an authorized driving school near you.
If you are 14½-18 years old and a Florida student, this course costs nothing for you! That's because this course is paid for by educational funds from the state. So not only do you satisfy your First Time Driver requirement and earn half a school credit, but it's all free!