$0
  • DHSMV-Approved Course from the Drivers Ed Authority

    Earning a Florida drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.

    • If you've never taken a course with Florida Virtual School (FLVS) before, just create a free account. If you're already an FLVS student, click here to log in and register for your Florida teen drivers ed course. Then you'll be all set to start our approved Florida drivers ed course. Once you start, you'll be on the road to completing your First Time Driver/TLSAE requirement.

      Log in and out whenever you want, from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. Compare that to spending your weekends in a classroom!

      At the end of the course, there'll be a final exam. Don't worry though—you'll have unlimited access to review the course material as much as you need. Once you take the test and pass, you'll receive a DHSMV-approved waiver certificate that covers your 4-hour First Time Driver/Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) requirement.

      • Step 1: Take a DHSMV-approved First Time Driver Florida Drivers Ed Course

        In order to get your Florida learners license, all first time drivers (regardless of age) must fulfill a First Time Driver/Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course (TLSAE) requirement.

        DriversEd.com, in partnership with FLVS, offers a Florida drivers ed course that satisfies the TLSAE requirement and earns you half a school credit. When you complete our course, you will receive a waiver certificate for the TLSAE, which is required in order to earn your Florida learners permit and ultimately your Florida drivers license.

        Note: you must be a Florida student between the ages of 14½-18 to qualify for this course. For more information about student requirements, please visit the Florida Virtual School webpage.

      • Step 2: Study for the Florida learners permit / learners license test

        In order to get the Florida learners permit and eventually the Florida drivers license, everyone no matter how old must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DHSMV.

        A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online Florida DHSMV practice permit tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.

      • Step 3: Apply for the Florida learners permit / learners license

        Apply for your learners permit at your local DHSMV.

        To be eligible for a Florida learners license, you must:
        1. Be at least 15 years old
        2. Submit a completed Parent Consent Form A (available at the DHSMV field office). This form must be signed in the presence of a drivers license examiner or notarized if your parent or guardian cannot be present. If you are under 18 and are not married, one parent or legal guardian must sign this application. Stepparents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you.
        3. Provide your Social Security number with one of the following:
          • Certified U.S. birth certificate
          • U.S. Passport
          • Certificate of Naturalization
          • United States Military ID cards with an officer rank will be accepted as proof of citizenship only; however, not as proof of primary identification.
        4. Provide a secondary form of identification.
        5. Present your First Time Driver Certificate of Completion (FLVS waiver certificate).
        6. Be ready to have your picture taken.
        7. Give a thumb print.
        8. Pass a hearing test.
        9. Pass a vision test.
        10. Pass a written exam.

        Note: all documents provided to the DHSMV must be originals or certified copies.
        After you pass the written exam, you'll be issued a learners license to practice driving. Your learners license will carry the following restrictions:

        • You can only drive during daylight hours for the first three months and until 10 p.m. thereafter, and
        • You can only drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and who occupies the front passenger seat.
      • Step 4: Practice driving under supervision

        After you earn your learners license, you'll need to practice driving under supervision. If you're under 18, you will need to hold your learners license for at least 12 months during which time you must complete at least 50 hours (10 at night) of practice driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

        Note: in Florida, the DHSMV does not require new drivers to take in-car driving lessons with a driving school. However, for your safety and the safety of those around you, DriversEd.com strongly recommends that you take driving lessons with a licensed driving school.

      • Step 5: Take the driving test for your Florida drivers license

        Once you are ready to take the driving test, schedule your driving skills test at your local DHSMV.

        To be eligible to take the driving test, you must:
        1. Be at least 16 years old.
        2. Have held your learners license for at least one year (if under 18) and completed all required drivers education and behind-the-wheel training.
        3. Bring your Florida learners license.
        4. Have your parent or your guardian accompany you to sign the Affidavit for Minor to Be Licensed, which states that you have completed the required training (at least 50 hours of in-car driving lessons experience, 10 of which must be at night).
        5. Show proof of personal injury protection insurance and a valid vehicle registration must be provided on the vehicle for the driving test.

        Once you pass the driving skills test, you'll be issued your operator's license or Class E license for a fee of $20.

        Third Party Testing

        Students can also choose to complete their drivers license tests through DHSMV-approved Drivers Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP) courses in participating public or private schools. After taking the drivers license test, the drivers education teacher will enter the student's results into the DHSMV's records.

        These results will be used by the local drivers license office for issuance of a learners driver license or Class E drivers license. DHSMV may, however, test any student on a random basis before issuing a drivers license.

        Operators License Restriction
        If you are 16 years old:
        • Driving is only allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
        • During all other times, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver or be traveling to or from work.
        If you are 17 years old:
        • Driving is only allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.
        • During all other times, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver or be traveling to or from work.
    • All first-time drivers (minimum age 15) must take a Florida drivers education course in order to get a Florida learners permit. The Florida DHSMV calls this Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE).

      Our course not only satisfies your First Time Driver/TLSAE requirement, but it earns you half a school credit as well.

      So if you're 14½-18 years old and want to learn about driving in Florida and plan to obtain a Florida drivers license, you can take this course.

    • Yes. Upon successful completion of this drivers education course, you will receive a waiver certificate which fulfills your First Time Driver/TLSAE (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) requirement.

    • Drivers Education is a class that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, etc., so you're ready to pass your written learners permit test. Our Florida drivers education course will provide you a waiver certificate that fulfills the 4-hour requirement for first time drivers.

      Drivers Training is the in-car driving lessons with a licensed driving instructor. In Florida, drivers training is not mandatory.

      However, it's always a good idea to take lessons with an experienced, licensed instructor. If you want, you can find a local driving school here.

    • This Florida drivers ed course is provided through Florida Virtual School (FLVS). If you're new to FLVS, just create a free account to get started. (You'll have to enroll with FLVS later: check out this video on how to apply.)

      If you're a current or past FLVS student, click here to log in and register for your Florida teen drivers ed course.

    • That depends on your individual pace. The good news is that you can always go at your pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time can fly if you do 20 minutes here and there!

    • Once you successfully complete the course, Florida Virtual School (FLVS) will issue you a waiver certificate to satisfy this requirement. You'll be one step closer to getting on the road!

    • There is no drivers training requirement in Florida, but it's always a good idea to take in-car driving lessons with a professional driving instructor. Find an approved driving school near you.

    • If you are 14½-18 years old and a Florida student, this course costs nothing for you! That's because this course is paid for by educational funds from the state. So not only do you satisfy your First Time Driver requirement and earn half a school credit, but it's all free!

../