The States That Let You Take Online Driver's Ed
Getting your driver’s license is an exciting experience. And thanks to technology, some states have approved online driver’s education courses to make it easier than ever to get your driver's license. If you’re looking to take your driver’s ed course sometime soon, check the list below to see if your state is on it and find the course that's right for you.
Teenagers under the age of 18 have to show proof of completion of 30 hours of formal driver’s education. They must also show proof of being behind the wheel for at least six hours to get a license.
The younger you are in Colorado, the more requirements there are. If you’re 15, you have to take a 30-hour classroom (or online) course to get an instruction permit. If you’re 15.5, you have to take a four-hour Driver Awareness Course. If you’re 16.5, there’s no classroom requirement, but you have to get a six-hour “Behind the Wheel” (BTW) certificate. Anyone that’s under 18 has to have a permit for at least a year before they’re eligible to get a license.
All drivers in Florida have to complete a four-hour Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course before being eligible for a license. Intermediate license restrictions come into play up until the age of 18.
Anyone under the age of 17 must complete a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services if they want a Provisional License. The course has to be at least 30 hours of online or classroom instruction. In addition, they must complete six hours of instructor-taught time behind the wheel or 40 hours of parent-taught time driving. And at least six of those hours have to be at night. Anyone who doesn’t complete an approved driver education course has to wait until they’re 17 to get a driver’s license.
Teens between the ages of 14.5 and 17 have to complete 30 hours of formal classroom driver’s education along with 12 hours of in-car driver training. Six of those hours have to be spent driving, and the other six should be spent observing.
Anyone under 18 has to complete a driver education course with 30 hours of classroom and six hours of behind-the-wheel training to get their license. Behind-the-wheel training has to be concurrent.
In Indiana, you can get a learner’s permit at 15.5 and get your license at 16, but it requires 30 hours of classroom study and six hours of behind-the-wheel training.
To get an Intermediate driver’s license, you have to complete an approved driver education course, have an instruction permit for at least a year, and finish 20 hours of supervised driving. Students must complete 30 hours of classroom (or online) training and six or more hours of behind-the-wheel training.
To get a license at 15, teens are required to complete a state-approved driver’s training course. By the age of 16, there are fewer restrictions, and no driver education course is required.
Teens in Kentucky can take an online driver's ed course that can help them prepare for their licenses. Teens have to complete 60 hours of driving practice with 10 hours of night driving to get a driver’s license.
To get a license under the age of 16 in Nebraska, you have to complete a DMV-approved driver safety course or present a 50-hour Certification form, signed by a parent or guardian who’s over the age of 21.
Anyone under 18 has to complete a driver education course either online or in-person.
Teens with a permit must complete 24 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of behind-the-wheel driver training.
Oklahoma requires that teens take a driver's education course to get their learner's permit at 15.5.
In Pennsylvania, teens must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and six behind-the-wheel driver training hours to get an unrestricted senior license at 17.5 instead of 18. Otherwise, driver's ed is not mandatory.
While driver's ed courses aren't required in Tennessee, students can still take one to improve their knowledge.
Anyone under 18 has to complete a driver education course to get a provisional license. The course has to be 32 hours of classroom instruction and 44 hours of skills training, which includes seven hours of observation, seven hours behind the wheel, and 30 hours with a licensed adult that has at least a year of driving experience.
Anyone under the age of 18 must complete a driver’s education course and six hours behind the wheel, as well as six hours observing.
In Virginia, teens under 18 must complete a driver’s education course, meaning 36 hours of classroom instruction, 14 hours of driver training, seven hours of driving, and seven hours of observing.
Teens under 18 have to take a driver’s education course for 30 hours, with six hours of behind-the-wheel driver education training and six hours of observation.
Where to Take Driver’s Ed Courses Online
If, after reading this, you realize driver’s ed is available online in your state, you can meet your state’s driver’s ed requirements via DriversEd.com's online state-approved driver’s education courses quickly and easily, right from the comfort of your couch.