Start Your DHSMV-Approved Permit Test Now!
Still have questions about taking the Florida learners permit test online? Read on for more information about how the online learners permit test works.
How does the online test work?
If you are between 15 and 18 years old, you can take the Florida learners permit test online. You just need your parent or legal guardian to monitor the exam.
Get started by creating an account and completing registration and payment. You'll need the last 5 digis of your Social Security number, and your parent or legal guardian will also need their ID number to certify that they are proctoring the exam. This information is required by the DHSMV, but rest assured that we'll never share it with anyone.
The exam consists of 50 questions. During the test, you will be asked to verify your identity by answering personal validation questions based on information you provide during registration. You must answer these questions correctly.
When you pass the test, we'll let the Florida DHSMV know. No certificates or paperwork are necessary!
Is the test approved?
Yes. DriversEd.com is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles as a third-party provider of the online Florida learners license test. You can take the online test to waive the written exam at the DHSMV.
How do I access the free, 50 practice permit tests?
After payment, your free practice permit tests will become accessible from your online DriversEd.com account.
Who can take the Florida learners permit test?
You can take this test if you are between 15 and 18 years old.
Eligibility for the learners permit test is regulated by the DHSMV. If you are determined ineligible, you should contact your local DHSMV office.
What identification do I need to take the test online?
When you register for the online learners permit test, the DHSMV requires that you provide the last 5 digits of your Social Security number or your alien registration number or admission number as a backup. We will keep this information for our records, but we will never share this information with anyone else.
If you cannot present proper identification, you cannot take the test online. You may visit a local DHSMV office to apply for a Florida ID card. Please visit www.flhsmv.gov/WhatToBring to find out what documents are required to obtain a Florida ID card.
How does parent proctoring work?
The online Florida learners permit test must be proctored by a parent or legal guardian. When you take the online test, your parent or legal guardian must provide a drivers license or military ID number to confirm that they are monitoring but not helping you with the exam. We will keep this information for our records, but we will never share this information with anyone else.
What material does the test cover?
The permit test consists of 50 questions covering road rules and road signs.
What's the format of the test?
The test has 50 questions and you will have 60 minutes to complete it.
What is a passing score?
The passing score for the test is 80%. You must correctly answer 40 out of 50 questions to pass.
Where does the test come from?
The test questions are provided by the Florida DHSMV. DriversEd.com has no control over the questions on the test or the grading of the test.
What happens if I close or exit the browser during the exam?
If you close the window or exit the browser during the exam, your exam will be considered expired. Expired exams are failed exams.
Can I retake the test if I fail?
You have one initial attempt and two possible test retakes. If you fail the test three times online, you will have to visit your local driver license or tax office to take the exam in person.
When do I receive my learners license?
Once you pass the test, we'll notify the Florida DHSMV. You will have to go to the DHSMV to pick up your learners license in person. You should check with the DHSMV to see what documents you need to bring with you.
Pricing and Payment
How much does the test cost?
The test costs . This covers your first attempt. After that, it costs $20 to retake the test. The cost of the test does not include DHSMV licensing fees.
How do I make a payment?
You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, or American Express. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886. The Florida DHSMV does not allow us to take payments via PayPal or Google Checkout.
Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:
Attn: Billing Dept.
P.O. Box 238
Oakland, CA 94604-0238
Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your account.
Is it safe to send my credit card information over the Internet?
Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we promise never to share your information with anyone else.
What is DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with three months of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
Here's how it works:
- Sign up for any DriversEd.com Drivers Ed course.
- During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will enroll you in your three free months of roadside assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you'll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the DriversEd.com driver's family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
Simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance support team, and a Customer Experience agent will help you out!
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase and prior to attempting the Permit Exam. No refunds will be issued once a Permit Exam has been started; to students over the age of 18 who have enrolled in the online DHSMV Permit Exam; or to students who fail the test as a result of security verification failure. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request. After 180 days, additional fees may apply to continue a Permit Exam.