TEA / TDLR-Licensed Course from the Drivers Ed Authority
Questions? You came to the right place!
Earning a Texas drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.
How It Works
How does online drivers ed work?
It's simple. Create an account by choosing a username and password. We'll take you through the steps of enrolling in the course and give you some important information. Before you know it you'll be on the road to satisfying your Texas drivers education requirement!
Your course is available to you online 24/7. That means you can log in and out whenever you want and from any computer that has Internet access. When you log back in, we'll take you back to the exact place you left off. Doesn't that sound better than spending time in a classroom? And if you have a question about course content, customer support is open 7 days a week.
At the end of the course there will be a final exam. According to Texas regulations, you are only allowed to take the final exam three times. If you fail the final exam for this course three times, you will have to take the course over again.
How do I get my drivers license if I'm over 18 and under 25 years old?
There are 2 steps:
All new drivers over 18 and under 25 years of age who plan to earn a Texas drivers license need to take a 6-hour Texas drivers education course.
With DriversEd.com, you can take your Texas drivers education course all online and receive an official Certificate of Completion. DriversEd.com is an online provider of the required 6-hour Texas drivers education course.
All students must verify their identity for this course, according to Texas law, and DriversEd.com has designed our course procedure to make your experience as easy as possible.
To comply with Texas state requirements, you will be asked personal validation questions throughout the course. Before you take your final exam, you'll also have to answer a few third-party validation questions online to verify your identity. This is to make sure that the right person is taking the course.
With DriversEd.com, you don't have to make any trips—you can do everything online! Most other Texas courses require you to take the final test at a notary public or some other location. With DriversEd.com, you can finish the entire course at home, even the final exam!
According to Texas regulations, you are only allowed to take the final exam three times. If you fail the final exam for this course three times, you will have to take the course over again.
Online identity verification not available in all cases.
When you're ready to take the driving test, make an appointment with your local DPS.
To take your driving test, you must:
- Have completed a 6-hour Texas drivers education course (if you are over the age of 18 and under 25).
- Have completed the ITYD process
- Show proof of birth date and legal presence.
- Show proof of insurance for the vehicle you will be using for your driving test.
You now simply have to complete a supervised behind-the-wheel driving test. If you can demonstrate competency on the road under real conditions, you will be approved for your license and be given a temporary paper one to use until the real thing arrives in the mail in the next several days. You’ve earned this—so use it responsibly.
How do I get my drivers license if I'm over 25?
All new drivers over the age of 25 who plan to earn a Texas drivers license need to pass a test. You can take this test by spending time waiting at the DPS and feeling stuffy while taking a supervised written exam, or you can take our adult drivers ed course for Texas and complete the test hassle free. Our course waives your need to go to the DPS!
Who must take Texas drivers education?
Texas law requires everyone over 18 and under 25 years of age who wish to obtain a Texas drivers license to complete a 6-hour drivers education course for adults.
If you're between 15 and 18 years old and seeking to earn your Texas learners permit (instruction permit), you'll need to complete a drivers education course for teens.
Does the DriversEd.com course satisfy Texas requirements?
Yes. Initally approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA), our school (#C3244) is now licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). This course meets the standards for the adult drivers education requirement in Texas: after you complete our course, you will receive a Texas DPS-accepted Certificate of Completion.
Do I still have to take my DPS written exam?
No! If you're eligible to take this online adult drivers ed course, your final exam serves as the written test. There's no need to stand in line at the DPS! Take this course, receive your Certificate of Completion, and then make your appointment for the DPS road test.
What is the difference between drivers education and drivers training?
- Drivers Education: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything that you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. In Texas, every new driver under 25 years old must take a drivers education course in order to ultimately earn their drivers license. DriversEd.com provides drivers education courses for teens and adults.
- Drivers Training: the in-car driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. In Texas, if you are under 18, you must take 34 hours of drivers training. Note: Effective September 1, 2013, the required number of hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving for teens will increase from 20 to 30, including 10 hours at night.
How long will it take for me to finish the course?
That depends on your individual pace. In Texas, adults over 18 and under 25 years of age are required to take a 6-hour drivers education course. The good news is that with DriversEd.com, you can always go at your own pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time flies if you do 20 minutes here and there.
When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?
After you complete the DriversEd.com course, we will mail your Certificate of Completion within 1 business day. All certificates are mailed via First Class Mail by default.
How do I get a duplicate copy of my Certificate of Completion?
To request a duplicate copy of your Certificate of Course Completion after you have graduated, please contact us toll free at 877-877-2525.
What's included in the DriversEd.com course fee?
The course fee includes everything you need to complete your 6-hour drivers education course online as well as your Certificate of Completion. You get everything for .
How do I pay for the course?
Once you create an account, you can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card over the phone by calling our customer service at 877-877-2525.
Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
If you would like to pay by check or money order, please mail your payment along with your username to:DriversEd.com
Attn: Billing Dept.
P.O. Box 238
Oakland, CA 94604-0238
Is it safe to use my credit card online?
DriversEd.com always uses the latest in security technology to protect your Internet transactions. And to ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file.
What is DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with three months of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
Here's how it works:
- Sign up for any DriversEd.com Drivers Ed course.
- During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will enroll you in your three free months of roadside assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you'll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the DriversEd.com driver's family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
Simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance support team, and a Customer Experience agent will help you out!
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.
* Adult (18+) course: $5.95 State Certificate and Handling Fee applies