DMV-Approved Course with Safety and Respect Driving School
Earning a Wisconsin drivers license is simple and convenient. Our all-online course, DriversEd.com will help you ace the DMV signs and rules test, and Safety and Respect Driving School will get you ready for a lifetime of safe driving.
How It Works
How does online drivers ed work?
Just create an account (it takes less than a minute), and you're all set to start our approved Wisconsin drivers ed course. You're on the road to completing your Wisconsin drivers education.
Log in and out whenever you want; from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. Compare that to spending your weekends in a classroom! By state law, you can complete as much as two hours per day of the course, so you'll be done in no time!
To make sure you're prepared to take your signs and rules test at the DMV, the course includes final exam, but don't worry — you can take it as many times as you need and review the course material as much as you want. Once you pass the test, we'll report your course completion to the DMV. The DMV will email you a certificate of completion which you can take to any drivers training school.
How do I get my drivers license?
Want a Wisconsin drivers license? First, you'll need your instruction permit. (You probably knew that already.) Here's how to get your instruction permit if you're under 18:
- Be at least 15 years and 6 months old
- Be enrolled in high school (or an equivalence program), or have graduated, or be enrolled in a home-school program
- Be enrolled in a certified drivers ed course (like ours!)
- DMV-licensed Driver Training School
- Have an adult sponsor to sign your application
Everybody, regardless of age, has to meet the following requirements:
- Provide proof of citizenship, legal status, etc.
- Show proof of name and date of birth
- Give proof of identity
- Demonstrate proof of Wisconsin residency
- Provide your Social Security number (your Social Security card will satisfy this requirement and the proof of identity requirement)
- Pass the DMV tests: a vision test, and the test on signs and rules
- Pay the fees
- Complete the Wisconsin Driver License form
Do all that (it's really not so bad) and you'll get your permit! While you have your permit, you'll have the following restrictions:
- Zero alcohol in your system, ever, regardless of your age
- You must always wear your seat belt
If you're under 18, you'll need to hold your permit for at least six months before you can get your probationary license. You can apply for a probationary license if you drive six months without receiving a ticket.
Every time you drive, you must always be accompanied by a person who has at least two years of licensed experience and a current valid regular license. That person must be in the passenger seat next to the driver with an instruction permit.
That person must be one of the following:
- A qualified instructor who is over 19
- A parent, guardian, or spouse, and over 19
- Someone who is 21 or older (in this case, if the permit holder is under 18, the person must have written permission to accompany the permit holder)
Once you're 16, you can add a second passenger, besides the accompanying person, but this passenger must be more than 25, must have at least two years of driving experience, and must sit somewhere other than the front seat.
If driving at night, you must be accompanied by a licensed instructor or a licensed person over 25 and with at least two years of experience. If you have a permit and are under 18, you must gain at least 30 hours of driving experience, with at least 10 hours coming at night. This should be documented on a driving log.
Your permit is valid for a year before it expires. You can renew it if you're not yet eligible for your probationary license. Once you have your probationary license, it's valid for two years following your next birthday.
After all that, you'll be eligible for a regular Wisconsin drivers license! You'll need to:
- Be at least 19
- Have had a probationary license until it has been renewed (usually two or three years)
- Continue to wear your seat belt and display absolute sobriety (zero alcohol in your system)
If you're over 18, you have to hold your permit for at least seven days before you can get your probationary license
Can I access the course using a mobile device?
Absolutely! Our course is optimized for use on desktop computers, laptops, tablets, and even smartphones. Log in and out on any device: we'll save your course progress so you can start where you left off, no matter how many times you switch devices.
Who needs to take Wisconsin drivers education?
Anyone who wants to earn an instruction permit under the age of 18 must take a certified driver education program (like ours!).
Does this DriversEd.com course satisfy DMV and other state requirements?
Yes, our course is fully certified by the state.
What exactly is drivers education and drivers training?
Drivers Education is a class that teaches you the rules of the road, including vehicle safety, so you're ready to pass your written permit test. Our Wisconsin drivers education course is DMV-approved so new drivers can complete their class completely online.
Drivers Training is in-car driving lessons with a licensed driving instructor who will help you build skills that you'll need to pass your Wisconsin road test and become a safe, confident driver.
How long will it take me to finish the course?
By law, this course must be at least 30 hours long, and you can complete up to two hours of it per day. You can go at your own pace, though, and make sure you're really mastering the material.
How do I access the free practice permit tests?
After payment, your free practice permit tests will become accessible from your online DriversEd.com account.
Will I receive a certificate of completion?
No, we'll report your course completion to the state for you, absolutely free.
Will I need to take in-car driving lessons after this course?
Yes, you'll need to complete a minimum of six hours of in-car driving lessons. You can pick any driving school you wish.
Pricing and Payment
How much does the course cost?
The cost for our Wisconsin drivers education online course is .
What's included in the course fee?
The course fee covers your online Wisconsin drivers education course, free practice tests to help you prepare for your written permit test, and a completion confirmation to the DMV. You'll receive an email with a certificate of completion from the DMV.
Once you complete the course, you also get unlimited access to the course material—that means you can review the course for as long as you need!
How do I make a payment?
You can pay by credit card online or by calling customer service at 888-651-2886. We accept VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You may also obtain a promotional code by signing up for the Safety & Respect Driving School (SRDS).
Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
To pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:
DriversEd.com Attn: Billing Dept. P.O. Box 238 Oakland, CA 94604-0238
Once payment is received, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your course account.
Is it safe to use my credit card online?
Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we promise never to share your information with anyone else.
What is DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with three months of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
Here's how it works:
- Sign up for any DriversEd.com Drivers Ed course.
- During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will enroll you in your three free months of roadside assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you'll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the DriversEd.com driver's family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
Simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance support team, and a Customer Experience agent will help you out!
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request