Pennsylvania PennDOT Related Articles
Learn on any device or from the comfort of your own home! Sign up for Pennsylvania Drivers Ed today!
You've got questions, and DriversEd.com has the answers. Need information about the specifics of permits and licenses in Pennsylvania? Just want to know a lot more about what we can do for you? Read on!
It's simple. After you create an account (it takes less than a minute), you're all set to start your Pennsylvania drivers ed course.
Your course is available to you online 24/7. That means you can log in and out whenever you want and from any computer that has Internet access! When you log back in, we'll take you back to the exact place you left off. Doesn't that sound better than spending your weekends in a classroom?
At the end of the course, there'll be a final exam so you can measure how much you've learned. Don't worry though—you can take it as many times as you need in order to pass. Once you pass the test, we'll mail out your Certificate of Completion via First Class Mail within 1 business day.
This Pennsylvania course, provided by Henry & Joe's Driving School and powered by DriversEd.com, can be taken online and on your own schedule.
In the past, teens had to take drivers education at a driving school. This usually meant sitting for hours in a stuffy classroom on the weekend. Now, you can take your drivers education online whenever you want. With this Department of Education-approved online Pennsylvania drivers education course, you can:
Once you have completed every lesson in the course, you'll be fully prepared to take the written exam and earn your learners permit.
Note: You must obtain your learners permit before you can take the final test in the course, as a permit is required before you can complete the course and upgrade a junior drivers license to an unrestricted drivers license.
To be eligible for a learners permit, you must:
Once you pass the knowledge test, you will be issued a learners permit, valid for one year.
The learners permit has the following restrictions:
You may not drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless your spouse, guardian or parent who is a licensed driver and at least 18 years of age is with you.
Once you have obtained your learners permit, you may finish taking the online course. After you have passed the final exam, you'll receive PennDOT form DL-59, as well as a Certificate of Completion. If you are under 18, both of these documents are required by PennDOT to upgrade from the junior drivers license to the unrestricted drivers license.
After receiving your learners permit, you may also begin to take in-car driving lessons. We strongly recommend that you take drivers training (behind-the-wheel lessons) with a professional driving instructor who can give you the skills you need to be a safe and confident driver. Find an approved driving school near you.
Plus, if you want to upgrade from a junior license to an unrestricted license before you turn 18, you must take an approved Pennsylvania drivers education course and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel lessons!
Now's the time to get lots of driving practice. If you are under age 18, before you can apply for the drivers license you will have to wait 6 months and complete at least 65 hours of driving supervised by a licensed parent or adult 21 years or older, with 10 hours at night and 5 hours in poor weather conditions.
When you are ready to take your driving road test, you can schedule an appointment either online or by calling 1-800-423-5542.
To be eligible to take the driving test, you must:
Note: All documents provided to the DOT must be originals and not copies.
Before the test begins, a drivers license examiner will check to see that your vehicle has a valid registration card, current insurance, valid state inspection sticker, and if required, a valid emissions sticker. The lights, horn, brakes, windshield wipers, turn signals, mirrors, doors, seatbelts and tires on your vehicle will also be checked to make sure they meet safety standards. If any part of your vehicle fails to meet state inspection requirements, you will not be allowed to take the Road Test. Once you pass the road test and if you are under 18, you will be issued a junior drivers license.
Your junior drivers license will have the following restrictions:
Your junior drivers license will automatically become an unrestricted regular drivers license when you turn 18.
Applying for an unrestricted drivers license before 18
After you've held a junior drivers license for one year, you can apply for your unrestricted drivers license before you turn 18 if you've completed your online and in-car driver training. You must meet the following requirements:
If you meet these requirements, you may apply for an unrestricted regular drivers license by submitting an Application for Change from a Junior Drivers License to a Regular Non-Commercial Drivers License (DL-59).
Drivers education is not mandatory in Pennsylvania. However, most teen drivers in Pennsylvania take drivers education in order to learn the rules of the road before they get behind the wheel. But no matter how old you are, if you want to learn about driving in Pennsylvania and plan to obtain a Pennsylvania drivers license, you can take this course.
IMPORTANT: Drivers Education is required in order to upgrade from a junior license to a senior license / unrestricted license before you are 18. Upon completion of the online course provided by Henry & Joe's Driving School and powered by DriversEd.com, you will receive PennDOT form DL-59 which is necessary for upgrading to an unrestricted license.
Yes. This course is approved as the online partner of Henry & Joe's Driving School. View the Approval Letter.
If you are under 18 when you pass the driving skills test, you will be issued a junior license which has the following restrictions:
A senior license / unrestricted license is a regular drivers license with none of the above restrictions.
Drivers Education: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything that you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. It's hard to believe, but in Pennsylvania drivers education is not mandatory. However, if you take an approved course like this one provided by Henry & Joe's Driving School, you can upgrade from a junior license to an unrestricted license before you are 18.
Drivers Training: the in-car driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. Although there is no mandatory drivers training requirement in Pennsylvania, we strongly recommend that you take driving lessons with a licensed instructor. Also, in order to upgrade to a senior unrestricted license before you are 18 you must take 6 hours of drivers training. Find a local driving school here.
If you're under 18, once you have your learners permit, you'll will have to practice driving for at least 6 months before you apply for your Pennsylvania drivers license. During this time, you must practice driving for at least 65 hours (10 hours at night and 5 hours in poor weather conditions) under the supervision of a person who is 21 or older and who has held a drivers license for at least one year.
For many insurance providers, a Certificate of Completion from an online drivers education course qualifies you for a discount on your auto insurance. However, because every driver's situation is different, the only way to know for sure is to ask your insurance agent.
Sorry, not at this time!
This will vary depending on your individual pace. By Pennsylvania law, all drivers education courses must be at least 30 hours. The good news is that with Henry & Joe's Driving School and DriversEd.com, you can always go at your pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time can fly if you do 20 minutes here and there!
Yes! In the past, Pennsylvania required students to take the final exam in person. Now with this course, you can take both the course and the final exam online.
After you pay for the course, your free practice tests will be accessible in your account.
After you complete the online course provided by Henry & Joe's Driving School and powered by DriversEd.com, we will mail your Certificate of Completion free of charge and within 2-3 business days of your course completion. All certificates are mailed via First Class Mail.
If you lose your certificate, you should contact Henry & Joe's Driving School at 610-352-0510.
If you are taking this course in order to upgrade from a junior restricted license to a senior license, then you will have to take 6 hours of drivers training (in-car driving lessons). After you complete the course, sign up with an approved driving school.
No. This course gives you everything you need to complete drivers education.
The course fee covers the cost of your online drivers education course as well as your PennDOT-recognized Certificate of Completion sent to you by First Class Mail.
You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886. Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:
Attn: Billing Dept.
4201 FM 1960 W, Ste 100
Houston, TX 77068
Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your course account.
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with 1 month of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.