How to Get Your Nevada Learners Permit
Getting your permit is an exciting step on the way to getting your driver's license and all the freedom that comes with it. You can get your Nevada learner's permit when you're 15 ½. You just need to follow these steps.
Step One: Study for the Written Knowledge Exam
To get your Nevada learner's permit, you'll need to pass a written knowledge exam. The exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions and you'll need to score at least 80 percent to pass.
The Nevada DMV offers an online practice test to help you prepare. You should also spend some time studying the state's traffic laws, highway signs and safe driving practices in the Nevada Driver's Handbook.
Step Two: Assemble Your Documents
It's not uncommon for permit or license applicants to be turned away at the DMV because they didn't bring all the necessary paperwork. Be sure to assemble your documents in advance so that you're prepared for your trip to the DMV. You'll need:
- Your birth certificate
- Your Social Security Card
- Two items proving your residential address (school IDs, report cards, or bank statements can work)
- A Certification of Attendance from your school
Step Three: Take Your Written Knowledge Exam
Once you've studied up on Nevada's rules of the road and gathered your paperwork, it's time to visit the DMV. You can schedule an appointment in advance if you live in Las Vegas, Reno, Carson City, or Henderson.
At the DMV, you'll submit all your documents before taking your written knowledge exam and vision test. You're welcome to wear your glasses or contacts during your vision exam. If you pass both exams, you'll receive your Nevada learner's permit in the mail within 10 days.
Step Four: Practice Safe Driving
Though getting your Nevada learner's permit is an exciting accomplishment, you're ultimate goal is to get your driver's license. That's why it's important to always practice safe driving and to abide by all of Nevada's permit restrictions. Breaking the rules can delay you from getting your license after you turn 16.
When you have your permit, you're only allowed to drive with a licensed driver who is 21 or older in the front seat. Permit holders are also required to wait at least six months after an at-fault accident, moving violation or drug conviction before they can apply for their license.
After you've turned 16 and had your learner's permit for at least six months, you can apply for your driver's license. Keep in mind that Nevada learner's permits expire after a year, so you'll either need to get your license or renew your permit within 12 months of when your permit was issued.