How to Get Your Nevada Driver's License
If you're anxiously awaiting the day that you get your Nevada driver's license, you're not alone. Getting your license is an exciting step that comes with lots of new freedoms and responsibilities. If you're ready to get behind the wheel, follow these steps.
Step One: Get Your Learner's Permit
In Nevada, you must be 15 ½ to get your learner's permit, which is the first stop on the road to getting your Nevada driver's license. To get your permit, you'll need to visit your local DMV office. If you're in Las Vegas, Henderson, Carson City or Reno, you can schedule an appointment online.
At the DMV, you'll need to present proof of your identity and residential address. For proof of address, you can use items like a bank statement, report card or student ID. After you've submitted all of your paperwork, you'll be ready to take your written knowledge exam.
The test consists of 50 multiple choice questions about Nevada's traffic laws and highway signs. You need to answer at least 80 percent of questions correctly in order to pass. A practice test is available online.
Step Two: Practice behind the Wheel
In Nevada, young motorists must complete a comprehensive driver's education course before getting their license. You have the option of taking the course at your high school or through a professional driver's education school.
Before you can get your Nevada driver's license, you'll also need to log at least 50 hours of parent-supervised driving practice, including at least 10 hours at night. To track your practice hours, you can use the RoadReady app.
Remember that permit holders are only allowed to drive with a licensed motorist who is 21 or older in the front seat. It's important that you follow all permit restrictions or you could run into trouble when it comes to getting your Nevada driver's license. Most importantly, you can't have any at-fault crashes, moving violations or drug convictions within six months of when you apply for your license.
Step Three: Take Your Road Skills Exam
Before you can take your behind-the-wheel driving test, you must be at least 16 and you're required to have held your Nevada learner's permit for at least six months. If you meet those qualifications and you've gotten plenty of practice in the driver's seat, then it's time to visit the DMV again.
This time, you'll need to bring along:
- Your learner's permit
- A certificate of completion from your driver's education program
- Your parent-supervised practice log
- Proof of your identity
- A completed license application
- A vehicle with proof of insurance and registration
Once a DMV employee has determined that you have all the necessary documents, you'll be able to take your behind-the-wheel exam. The best way to prepare for your road skills exam is to practice safe driving every time you're on the road.
Step Four: Understand Nevada's Minor Driving Restrictions
Though you'll have your license in hand by the time you reach this step, it's still important that you follow the state's minor driving restrictions or your driving privileges could be revoked.
For the first six months you have your license, you're not allowed to drive any passengers who are under 18 unless they're immediate family members. The following curfews are also in place for all drivers under 18:
- You're not allowed to drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless you're going to or from a work- or school-related event.
- You're not allowed to drive after 9 p.m. on the Las Vegas Strip or in the Reno Gaming District unless you're accompanied by an adult.
If you drive safely and adhere to these restrictions, you should have no trouble getting your unrestricted license when you turn 18.