Illinois Adult Drivers Ed FAQ
Questions? You came to the right place!
Earning an Illinois drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.
How It Works
How does online drivers ed work?
It's easy. Create an account to get started—it only takes a minute! Once you've enrolled and paid, you can begin the course and start earning your license.
Your course is available to you online 24/7. That means you can log in any time, and on any device—even your smartphone or tablet. Your progress is automatically saved so when you log back in, we'll take you back to the exact place you left off. Doesn't that sound better than spending time in a classroom? And if you have a question about course content, you can access our customer service department that’s available 7 days a week by phone or email.
At the end of the course, there's a final exam. The Illinois Secretary of State allows students two chances to take the final exam. If you fail the final exam for this course twice, you will have to take the course over again.
When you pass the course, we'll notify the Illinois Secretary of State. Once they've processed your information, we'll make your official certificate of completion available via the course dashboard. We'll also email you to let you know that it's ready to download!
How do I get my drivers license if I'm over 18 and under 21 years old?
Step 1: Take an approved 6-hour Illinois drivers education course
If you're over 18 and under 21 years old and want to earn your drivers license, you need to complete an approved 6-hour Illinois adult drivers education course.
With DriversEd.com, you can take your Illinois drivers education course all online and download your official Certificate of Completion from us directly. DriversEd.com is an authorized provider of the required 6-hour Illinois drivers education course.
All students must verify their identity for this course, according to Illinois law, and DriversEd.com has designed our course procedure to make your experience as easy as possible.
To comply with Illinois state requirements, you will have to confirm your identity with a voice verification test in order to take this course. After registering for the course, you will be prompted to make a voice recording by telephone. At several points during the course, you will be prompted to stop and call a voice verification number to confirm your voice password to make sure that the right person is taking the course.
With DriversEd.com, you can finish the entire course at home, even the final exam! However, according the Illinois Secretary of State, you are only allowed to take the final exam two times. If you fail the final exam for this course twice, you will have to take the course over again.
Once you complete your drivers education, your official certificate of completion will be made available for download (allow up to two business days for processing).
Step 2: Apply for your drivers license.
To get a license, you must pass a vision screening as well as a written exam and a driving exam. To take the driving exam, you must:
- Have completed a 6-hour Illinois drivers education course (if you are over the age of 18 and under 21).
- Show proof of insurance for the vehicle you will be using for your driving test. The vehicle must be registered and represent the same size and weight classification as the drivers license you're applying for.
- Be driven to the facility by a licensed driver.
You must also pay a drivers license fee.
Can I access the course using a mobile device?
Yes! Our courses are compatible with mobile devices. You can take the course on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop. Check out DriversEd.com's system requirements for more information.
Who needs to take Illinois adult drivers education?
As of July 1, 2014, first-time drivers who are 18, 19, or 20 years old are required to complete an approved Illinois drivers education course to earn an Illinois drivers license. If you didn't complete an approved course during high school, you will need to take an approved 6-hour Illinois adult drivers education course.
If you're under 18 years old and seeking to earn your Illinois instruction permit, you'll need to complete a drivers education course for teens. (Note: Illinois does not currently allow these courses to be offered online.)
What if I have already completed the classroom portion of a teen driver education course?
If you have ever completed the classroom portion of a teen driver education course, there is no need to take this course. Bring proof of your 30-hour classroom completion certificate to the nearest Secretary of State facility with your other required identification documents and complete the remaining requirements.
Does the DriversEd.com course satisfy Illinois requirements?
Yes. This DriversEd.com 6-hour online course is approved by the Illinois Secretary of State (SOS Certification #3354) and satisfies the drivers education requirement for Illinois adults 18, 19, or 20 years old.
When you complete the course, you will be issued a Certificate of Completion by the Secretary of State that we will make available for you to download from your course dashboard.
What is the difference between drivers education and drivers training?
Drivers education is a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, defensive driving techniques, and more. Our Illinois adult drivers education course is approved by the Illinois Secretary of State so new drivers over 18 and under 21 years old can complete their drivers education requirement entirely online.
Drivers training is behind-the-wheel instruction with a licensed driving instructor. In Illinois, drivers training is not required for adults, but it is still encouraged by the Illinois Secretary of State.
How long will it take for me to finish the course?
The course is designed to take at least 6 hours to complete, but the actual time depends on you. With 24/7 online access, you can go at your own pace. Just keep in mind that you must complete the course within 30 days. If you don't, you'll have to start over from the beginning.
When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?
After you complete your Illinois drivers education course, we will notify the Illinois Secretary of State of your course completion. Once the Secretary of State has processed your information, we'll email you to let you know that your official Certificate of Completion is available to download via your course dashboard. Please allow up to two business days for processing.
How can I get a duplicate of my Certificate of Completion?
It's easy! Once the Secretary of State has processed your information, your Certificate of Completion will be available from your course dashboard anytime. If you ever need a duplicate copy, just log in and print it out again.
Will I need to take in-car driving lessons after this course?
In-car driving lessons are not required for adults, but the Illinois Secretary of State recommends that all drivers get 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training, including at least 10 hours at night, before applying for a license.
Remember that you do have to pass a driving test to earn your drivers license.
Pricing and Payment
How much does the course cost?
The cost of our Illinois adult drivers education course is .
What's included in the course fee?
The course fee includes the complete approved Illinois adult drivers education course.
How do I make a payment?
You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.
Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:DriversEd.com
Attn: Billing Dept.
P.O. Box 238
Oakland, CA 94604-0238
Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your account.
Is it safe to use my credit card online?
Absolutely. DriversEd.com uses the latest security technology to protect your information. We do not keep your credit card number on file, and we will never share your information with anyone else.
What is DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with three months of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
Here's how it works:
- Sign up for any DriversEd.com Drivers Ed course.
- During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will enroll you in your three free months of roadside assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you'll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the DriversEd.com driver's family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
Simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance support team, and a Customer Experience agent will help you out!
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the first section quiz has not been attempted. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.