Driving can be dangerous, especially for new drivers. Lack of experience and the risk-taking behavior is what places teenagers in the high-risk group when it comes to driving. Approximately one fourth of all teen drivers receives a ticket or is involved in a traffic accident during their first year driving. Nevada Graduated Driver Licensing laws aim to reduce the number of crash-related casualties among teens by introducing proper education and training.
Under GDL program, Nevada teenagers are required to go through two steps:
- Step1 – obtaining the learners permit
- Step2 – obtaining the full license
If you are under 18, you will need to take a DMV-approved Nevada drivers education course and earn a Certificate of Completion, needed to obtain your Nevada drivers license. Once you complete your drivers education, it's time to get your Nevada learners permit (instruction permit). To do so, you'll have to pass a written permit test.
Once you have your Nevada instruction permit, you will need to practice driving under supervision. Remember you can only drive with a licensed driver 21 or older and who has been licensed for at least one year must be seated next to you at all times.
You will need to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience (10 at night) after you receive your instruction permit. If drivers education is not offered within a 30-mile radius of your residential address, you must complete 100 hours of supervised experience, (10 hours of which are at night).
Keep a written log of the dates and times of your driving experience on a form provided by DMV. Your parent or guardian must sign this form and submit it when you apply for your drivers license. The log book will be required for any drivers license issued 10/01/05 or later, even if your instruction permit was issued prior to this date.
Drivers training with a licensed instructor is not mandatory in Nevada. However, it is always a good idea to learn to drive from an experienced professional. If you wish to take drivers training with a licensed instructor, you can locate a local driving school here.
If you're under 18, the following restrictions will apply:
- Young drivers may not transport any passenger under 18, except for immediate family members, for the first six months after the license was issued.
- Drivers under 18 may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are traveling to or from a scheduled event such as school events or work. Law enforcement may ask for satisfactory evidence of the event. This applies to all drivers until they turn 18. It is illegal to drive in violation of any local curfew law.
Note: This article was accurate when it was published. Please confirm all details directly with the NV DMV. You can visit the NV DMV website or call in for general drivers license and registration information.
DriversEd.com is a privately held company and is in no way associated with the Department of Motor Vehicles, any other government agency, or the driving schools listed in this website. All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. DriversEd.com does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages.