$99

Virginia Teen Drivers Ed FAQ

Earning a Virginia drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.

You've got questions, and DriversEd.com has the answers. Need information about the specifics of permits and licenses in Virginia? Just want to know a lot more about what we can do for you? Read on!

General Information

It's simple. After you create an account (it takes less than a minute), and send in proof of your homeschool status, you're all set to start your Virginia drivers ed course.

Your course is available to you online 24/7. That means you can log in and out whenever you want and from any computer that has Internet access! When you log back in, we'll take you back to the exact place you left off. Doesn't that sound better than spending your weekends in a classroom?

At the end of the course, there'll be a final exam so you can measure how much you've learned. Don't worry though—you can take it as many times as you need in order to pass. Once you pass the test, you'll receive your Certificate of Completion within 7 to 10 business days.

Step 1: Take a DOE-approved Virginia drivers ed course

In Virginia, all new drivers under 19 must complete Virginia drivers ed.

The course includes 36 periods of classroom instruction and 14 periods of in-car driving instruction (7 of driving and 7 of driving observation).

Current Homeschooled Students:
If you are a Virginia homeschooled student, you can take the classroom portion conveniently online with our Virginia drivers education course!

DriversEd.com is approved by the Virginia Department of Education to provide online drivers education for current homeschooled students.

Please note: To comply with the DMV, students under 19 and their parent instructors who live in Planning District 8 The Virginia General Assembly passed legislation requiring all students in Planning District 8 (Arlington County, Fairfax County, Loudoun County, Prince William County, Alexandria City, Fairfax City, Falls Church City, Manassas City or Manassas Park City) to complete a 90-minute parent/teen presentation with a parent as a part of driver education. If you reside in one of these localities, you must provide proof of completion of this program before you graduate from the Driversed course.

Attend an in-person 90-minute parent/teen presentation at your local public or private school or complete an approved online version at www.90minparentteen.org.

The required in-car driving instruction can also be taught at home if you are homeschooled. See the Virginia DMV Homeschooled HS-3 Information Sheet and the Parental Authorization Application (HS-1) for details.

After you create a free DriversEd.com account, you will be able to access an application form that you will need to send in to us along with proof of homeschooled status.

Step 2: Study for the Virginia learners permit written test

In order to earn a learners permit and eventually the Virginia drivers license, you must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. Surprisingly, 70% of test-takers don't pass on their first try.

You can pass your test the first time with proven, online Virginia practice permit tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.

Note: our Virginia drivers education course automatically comes with 50 free online practice permit tests.

Step 3: Apply for your Virginia learners permit

When you're ready to take your written permit test, save time by making an appointment at your local Virginia DMV Customer Service Center.

To be eligible for your learners permit, you must:

  1. Be at least 15½ years old.
  2. Show two proofs of identity documents (one proof of legal presence and one proof of Virginia residency).
  3. Show proof of your Social Security number. See the Virginia DMV's list of Acceptable Documents.
  4. When you apply for a learners permit, also complete the application for your drivers license and pay the fees for both your permit and license.
  5. Pass a vision test.
  6. Pass a two-part written test. All 10 traffic sign questions in Part One must be answered correctly before you can take the 25-question general knowledge exam in Part Two. You must score at least 80% to pass Part Two.

Once you pass the written test, you'll be issued your learners permit.

Virginia learners permit restrictions:

  • You can only drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated next to you. The driver with you may be 18 if he or she is your legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, step-brother or step-sister.

    The driver accompanying you must hold a valid drivers license, be alert and able to assist you, and be legally permitted to drive.

  • Cell Phone Restrictions: if you're under 18, you cannot drive while using a cellular telephone or other wireless communication device.
  • Curfews: if you're under 18 and hold a learners permit or drivers license, you cannot drive between midnight and 4 a.m. If you have a license, you may drive during these hours only:

    • In an emergency
    • When traveling to and from work or a school-sponsored event
    • When accompanied by a parent or other adult acting in place of a parent
    • When responding to an emergency call as a volunteer firefighter or rescue squad personnel
  • Passenger Restrictions: with a permit, you cannot carry more than one passenger under 18. Passenger restrictions do not apply to family members.

Note that violations of either the curfew or passenger restrictions can lead to your drivers license being suspended.

Step 4: Take drivers training and practice driving under supervision

Once you have your Virginia learners permit, you'll need to practice driving. If you're under 19, you must hold your learners permit for at least 9 months and:

  • Complete 14 periods of drivers training with a licensed driving school instructor.

    Note: if you're a homeschooled student, your parent can instruct you in the 14 periods of drivers training once they've submitted an Affirmation of Attendance and Certificate of Completion to the DMV. In turn, the DMV will send your parent instructor a Letter of Authorization for in-car lessons.

  • Complete at least 45 hours of supervised practice driving (15 hours at night). All practice driving must be done with a licensed driver at least 21 years old next to you.

    The driver accompanying you may be 18 years old if he or she is your legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, step-brother or step-sister. The driver accompanying you must hold a valid drivers license, be alert and able to assist you, and be legally permitted to drive.

Step 5: Apply for your Virginia drivers license

Virginia Drivers License Requirements

Homeschooled Students:
If you're a homeschooled student and have chosen to take online drivers education and at-home in-car instruction, you must visit a DMV Customer Service Center and successfully pass the road skills test.

You must be at least 16 years and 3 months old and have held your learners permit for at least 9 months (30 days if 19 or older). You must also present the Letter of Authorization your parent received from the DMV before you begin in-car instruction.

Note: Students under 19 and their parent instructors who live in Planning District 8 The Virginia General Assembly passed legislation requiring all students in Planning District 8 (Arlington County, Fairfax County, Loudoun County, Prince William County, Alexandria City, Fairfax City, Falls Church City, Manassas City or Manassas Park City) to complete a 90-minute parent/teen presentation with a parent as a part of driver education. If you reside in one of these localities, you must provide proof of completion of this program before you graduate from the Driversed course.

Attend an in-person 90-minute parent/teen presentation at your local public or private school or complete an approved online version at www.90minparentteen.org.

Once you pass your road skills (driving) test, the DMV will issue a Virginia Homeschooled In-Car Driver Education Certificate (form HS-2). Your parent/guardian must sign this, and when accompanied by a valid Virginia learners permit, this HS-2 will serve as your drivers license.

Non-Homeschooled Students: A road skills (driving) test is not required for applicants who have completed a drivers education course (36 periods of classroom instruction and 14 periods of in-car instruction by a licensed instructor).

You will receive a Certificate of Completion when you successfully complete a state-approved drivers education program. A copy of your certificate will be sent by your school instructor to the DMV for issuance of a permanent drivers license.

After you've held your learners permit for nine months, turned age 16 and 3 months, and completed Virginia drivers education, you will receive a notice that tells you when to appear in court for a licensing ceremony where you'll receive your permanent drivers license. You must appear before the judge with a parent or legal guardian to receive your license. Your parent, guardian, or foster parent must certify that you received at least 45 hours of in-car driving practice, 15 of which must have been completed after sunset.

Note: if you previously have been found guilty of any offense by a juvenile and domestic relations court in Virginia or any other state, you must obtain approval to be licensed from that court or a court in the city or county where you live.

Drivers license restrictions:

  • Cell Phone Restrictions: if you're under 18, you cannot drive while using a cellular telephone or other wireless communication device.
  • Curfews: if you're under 18 and hold a learners permit or drivers license, you cannot drive between midnight and 4 a.m. If you have a license, you may drive during these hours only:

    • In an emergency
    • When traveling to and from work or a school-sponsored event
    • When accompanied by a parent or other adult acting in place of a parent
    • When responding to an emergency call as a volunteer firefighter or rescue squad personnel
  • Passenger Restrictions: if you're under 18, you may not carry more than one passenger under 18 for the first year after receiving your drivers license. Passenger restrictions do not apply to family members. After you have held your license for one year, you may carry only three passengers under 18 until you turn 18.

Violations of either the curfew or passenger restrictions can result in the suspension of your drivers license.

Your Permanent Drivers License
You will receive a notice that tells you when to appear in court for a licensing ceremony where you will receive your permanent drivers license. You must appear before the judge with a parent or legal guardian to receive your license.

Course Eligibility

If you're between the ages of 15 ½ and 19 and planning to obtain a Virginia learners permit, you'll need to complete an approved drivers education course.

DriversEd.com's online drivers ed course is DOE-approved and fulfills the Virginia drivers education requirement for current homeschooled students only.

This course can also be taken by current homeschooled students over 19 who want to learn the rules of the road and plan to obtain a Virginia drivers license.

Our course satisfies the DMV drivers education requirement for teens who are 100% homeschooled and do not attend a public or private high school. Our course is approved by the Virginia Department of Education and is equivalent to the 36-period drivers education classroom course.

The Virginia state legislature has not yet authorized online drivers education for non-homeschooled students. DriversEd.com hopes that Virginia will soon join the growing trend.

Students must be currently enrolled in a homeschooled program approved by their school division superintendent and cannot attend a public or private high school.

As you create a free DriversEd.com account, you'll be provided with an application form to download and print out. Send that to us along with proof of homeschooling to start the course.

As proof, please send a letter from the school division superintendent (not from the student's high school) stating that the parent is approved to homeschool the student or acknowledges the student's current homeschool status. The letter must be on school division letterhead and be dated for the current school year.

Once we receive your form and proof of homeschooling, we'll update your DriversEd.com account that same day so that you can start your online drivers education. You'll also get an email letting you know that your account has been updated.

You can send your form and proof of homeschooling via email, fax, or mail.

Scan and email to:
vahomeschool@DriversEd.com

Fax to:
(877) 922-0230

Mail to:
DriversEd.com
Attn: Virginia Home Study Course
283 4th Street, Suite 301
Oakland, CA 94607

  • Drivers Education: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. In Virginia, every new driver under 19 must take a 36-period drivers education course. DriversEd.com provides a DOE-approved drivers education course for homeschooled students.
  • Drivers Training: the in-car driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. In Virginia, if you are under 19, you must take 7 periods of drivers training and 7 periods of in-car observation. Find a local driving school here.

If you are homeschooled, your parent or guardian may be able to provide your in-car driving lessons. Please see the Virginia DMV Homeschooled Information Sheet for details. You will be required to complete and submit Homeschooled In-Car Driver Education Parental Authorization (HS-1).

If you are under 19, once you have your learners permit, you will have to practice driving for at least 9 months before you apply for your Virginia drivers license.

During this time you must complete at least 45 hours (15 after sunset) of supervised driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated beside you. The driver next to you may be 18 years old if he or she is your legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, step-brother or step-sister.

Course Information

The cost for our Virginia drivers education online course is $99.

This will vary depending on your individual pace. Keep in mind that by Virginia law, all drivers education courses must be at least 36 classroom periods. The good news is that with DriversEd.com, you can always go at your pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think about how fast time flies when you do 20 minutes here and there!

Note: Students under 19 and their parent instructors who live in Planning District 8 The Virginia General Assembly passed legislation requiring all students in Planning District 8 (Arlington County, Fairfax County, Loudoun County, Prince William County, Alexandria City, Fairfax City, Falls Church City, Manassas City or Manassas Park City) to complete a 90-minute parent/teen presentation with a parent as a part of driver education. If you reside in one of these localities, you must provide proof of completion of this program before you graduate from the Driversed course.

Attend an in-person 90-minute parent/teen presentation at your local public or private school or complete an approved online version at www.90minparentteen.org.

After you pay for the course, your free practice permit tests will become accessible in your account.

Your Certificate of Completion will be sent to you by the Department of Education. You should receive the certificate within 7 to 10 business days of finishing the course.

If you lose your certificate, you can request a duplicate by calling us at 888-651-2886.

In Virginia, if you are under 19, you must take 7 periods of drivers training and 7 periods of in-car observation. After you complete our course, you'll need to sign up with an approved driving school.

Pricing and Payment

The $99 course fee covers the cost of your online drivers education course, a DMV-recognized Certificate of Completion sent to you by First Class Mail, and 50 free practice permit tests to help you prepare for your written permit test.

Note: DriversEd.com does not send your Certificate of Completion. It will be sent to you by the Department of Education. You should receive your certificate within 7 to 10 business days of completing the course.

Once you complete the course, you also get unlimited access to the course material–that means you can review the course for as long as you need!

Once you create an account, you can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card over the phone by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.

Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.

If you would like to pay by check or money order, you'll receive instructions at the time of payment.

Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we promise never to share your information with anyone else.

Refund Policy

It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.

../