Ohio Teen Drivers Ed FAQ
Ready to start earning your Ohio drivers license? We've gathered all the details of the process. Find out how to get started with our BMV-approved online Ohio drivers ed course and what you need to do to get into the driver's seat.
How It Works
How does online drivers ed work?
Just create an account (it takes less than a minute), and you're all set to start our Ohio drivers ed course.
Log in and out whenever you want, from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. Compare that to spending your weekends in a classroom!
Once you complete the first 2 hours of the course, we'll send you a Certificate of Enrollment, which you can take to any licensed driving school to begin your in-car driving lessons.
There will be a final exam at the end of your drivers ed course, but don't worry—you can review the course material as much as you want before you take it. Once you pass the test, we'll mail your Certificate of Completion within 1 business day. Shipment of certificates by USPS First Class Mail is free.
Please note: Per Ohio BMV requirements, the course must be completed within 180 days of registration.
How do I get my drivers license?
Step 1: Complete a BMV-approved Ohio drivers education course
If you're under 18, you must take a BMV-approved 24-hour Ohio drivers education course and earn a Certificate of Enrollment and Certificate of Completion in order to get your Ohio learners permit and ultimately your Ohio drivers license. You must be at least 15 years and 5 months old to start taking a drivers ed course.
With DriversEd.com, you can take your Ohio drivers education course all online. DriversEd.com is a BMV-licensed provider of the required 24-hour Ohio drivers education course.
After you complete the first 2 hours of our online drivers ed course, you will receive a Certificate of Enrollment, which you can take to any licensed driving school to being your in-car drivers training. Once you complete the entire online course, you will receive an official Certificate of Completion.
Step 2: Study for the Ohio learners permit/instruction permit test
To earn the Ohio temporary instruction permit and eventually the Ohio drivers license, everyone regardless of age must pass a knowledge test on traffic laws and signs. Here's the problem: 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the BMV!
A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online Ohio practice permit tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.
Fifty online practice permit tests come free with our Ohio drivers education course.
Step 3: Apply for the Ohio learners permit/temporary instruction permit
When you're ready to take your written permit test, save time by scheduling your test appointment at your local BMV location.
To be eligible for the Ohio temporary instruction permit, you must:
- Be at least 15½ years old.
- Pass a vision exam and a written permit test at a Driver Examination Station. You will also have to answer questions about your physical health and possible medical conditions.
- Provide proof of your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security number, proof of citizenship or legal presence, and proof of residency. View acceptable documents.
- Apply for a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) at your local Deputy Registrar.
- Submit a completed temporary permit application. A parent or legal guardian must sign this application and provide two verification documents of identification. View acceptable documents.
- Pay the application fee.
Once you pass the test, you will be issued a temporary instruction permit.
Step 4: Practice driving under supervision
Once you have your Ohio temporary instruction permit, you'll need to practice driving under supervision. A licensed parent, guardian, or certified driving instructor must be with you at all times when you drive.
To get your license before you turn 18, you'll need to practice driving for at least 6 months before you take the driving test. You must also complete the following:
- Take 8 hours of in-car drivers training with a professional driving instructor. You must complete all classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training within 6 months from the date training begins.
- Complete 50 hours (with 10 hours at night) of practice driving certified by a parent.
Step 5: Take the driving test for your Ohio drivers license
When you're ready to take the driving test, make an appointment with your local Ohio Driver License Examination Station.
To take your driving test, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old and have held a temporary permit for at least 6 months.
- Bring your Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC).
- Bring your drivers education Certificate of Completion if you're under 18.
Can I access the course using a mobile device?
Absolutely. Our course is accessible from your desktop, laptop, or mobile device. You can switch between the mobile site and the full desktop site whenever you want.
Who needs to take Ohio drivers education?
If you're between 15½ and 18 years old and want to get an Ohio learners permit (temporary instruction permit), you'll need to complete a BMV-approved drivers education course. You can start drivers ed once you are 15 years and 5 months old.
DriversEd.com's BMV-approved online course fulfills the Ohio drivers education requirement for new drivers under 18.
Does the DriversEd.com course satisfy BMV and BMV requirements?
Yes. Our course is equivalent to the regular 24-hour, in-class drivers education course. After you complete our course, you will receive a BMV-accepted Certificate of Completion.
What exactly is drivers education and drivers training?
- Drivers education is a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, etc., so you're ready to pass your written permit test. Our Ohio drivers education course lets new drivers under 18 complete their requirement entirely online.
- Drivers training is the in-car driving lesson with an approved licensed driving instructor. In Ohio, if you are under 18, you must take 8 hours of drivers training before you can take your road test. Find an approved training school here.
How long will it take for me to finish the course?
That depends on your individual pace. In Ohio, all drivers education courses must be at least 24 hours. The good news is that with DriversEd.com, you can always go at your own pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time flies if you do 20 minutes here and there!
How do I access the free, unlimited practice permit tests?
After payment, your free and unlimited practice permit tests will become accessible from your online DriversEd.com account.
When will I receive my Certificate of Enrollment and Certificate of Completion?
Once you complete the first two hours of the course, we will send you a Certificate of Enrollment.
After you complete the entire course and pass your final test, we will ship your Certificate of Completion.
Can I get my Certificate of Enrollment or Certificate of Completion faster?
For most courses, we offer free shipping of your completion certificate via U.S. Mail. In some cases, we even ship on the same day you complete your course. If you’d like your certificate sooner rather than later, we also offer affordable expedited delivery options via FedEx. Please note that if you live in a rural area, delivery delays may occur. Email delivery and immediate download is also available in some states.
How do I get another copy of my Certificate of Enrollment or Certificate of Completion?
If you lose your certificate, you can simply request a duplicate in your DriversEd.com account. Under your certificate delivery details, there will be a link to request a duplicate certificate.
Will I need to take in-car driving lessons after this course?
Yes. Ohio law requires all new drivers under 18 take at least 8 hours of in-car drivers training.
After you complete the first two hours of our online drivers education course, you'll receive a Certificate of Enrollment. You can take this certificate to sign up for your drivers training at any licensed Ohio driving school.
Pricing and Payment
How do I make a payment?
You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.
Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:
Attn: Billing Dept.
P.O. Box 238
Oakland, CA 94604-0238
Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your course account.
Is it safe to use my credit card online?
Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we promise never to share your information with anyone else.
What is DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with three months of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
Here's how it works:
- Sign up for any DriversEd.com Drivers Ed course.
- During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will enroll you in your three free months of roadside assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you'll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the DriversEd.com driver's family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
Simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance support team, and a Customer Experience agent will help you out!
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of any course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase, as long as a certificate of partial completion has NOT been issued. Once a partial completion certificate has been issued, NO REFUND will be available. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.