Minnesota Teen Drivers Ed FAQ

DPS-Licensed Course from the Drivers Ed Authority

Minnesota DPS Related Articles

Minnesota Drivers Ed Book Course

Learn on any device or from the comfort of your own home! Sign up for Minnesota Drivers Ed today!

Home / Minnesota / Drivers Ed / Course FAQ

Earning a Minnesota drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.

You've got questions, and DriversEd.com has the answers. Need information about the specifics of permits and licenses in Minnesota? Just want to know a lot more about what we can do for you? Read on!

How does the drivers ed book course work?

It's simple. Students who are 100% homeschooled are eligible for this course. Just create an account by choosing a username and password. As soon as you submit your payment, we'll send out your Minnesota drivers ed course materials so you can get started as soon as possible.

Once you receive the Minnesota packet from us, you can take the course whenever you like and go at your own pace. Doesn't that sound better than spending your weekends in a classroom?

At the end of the course, there'll be a final exam that you take at home. You can mail or fax the exam to us, and when we receive it, we'll mail out your Certificate of Completion within one business day. Shipment by USPS First Class Mail is free, but you can always upgrade your certificate's delivery method if you want.

How do I get my drivers license?

Step 1: Take a DPS-approved Minnesota drivers education course

If you are under 18, you must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and be enrolled in 6 hours of in-car driving lessons in order to be eligible for a Minnesota instruction permit.

If you are a homeschooled student in Minnesota, you can fulfill the 30-hour classroom instruction requirement with DriversEd.com's Minnesota drivers education book course. Our book course is approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) for full-time homeschooled students. Students who attend an online school or charter school, or students who are homebound do not qualify as homeschooled.

After you complete the course, your parent must submit a Home School Driver's Education Affidavit to the DPS, which will then issue you a proof-of-classroom-completion document that you can use to obtain the Certificate of Enrollment required for the instruction permit.

Step 2: Study for the Minnesota learners permit / instruction permit test

In order to get the learners permit and eventually the Minnesota drivers license, everyone no matter how old must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DMV.

A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online Minnesota DPS practice permit tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.

Fifty online practice permit tests come free with our Minnesota drivers education course.

Step 3: Enroll in drivers training

Sign up for at least 6 hours driving lessons with a licensed driving instructor. If you are under 18, you must show proof of enrollment in drivers training when you apply for the learners permit. You can actually begin these driving lessons once you get your instruction permit. Find a local driving school.

Step 4: Apply for your Minnesota learners permit / instruction permit

When you are ready to take your written permit test, save time by scheduling your test appointment at your local DPS office.

To apply for your instruction permit, you must:

  1. Be at least 15 years old.
  2. Provide your valid Social Security number.
  3. You must also show proof of age and identity at the time of application.
  4. If you are under 18, you must present a Certificate of Completion from an approved drivers education course and a Certificate of Enrollment in 6 hours of in-car driving lessons.
  5. Complete a license application and pay the required instruction permit fee.
  6. If you are under 18, a parent or guardian must approve your permit application. If your parents are divorced, a stepparent married to your custodial parent may approve your application. If you have no living parents or guardian or if you are married or legally emancipated, a close family member, employer, or a spouse who is at least 18 years old can sign your application.
  7. Pass a vision test.
  8. Pass a knowledge test.

Once you've passed the written test, you will be issued an instruction permit.

The following restrictions will apply with your instruction permit:

  • You must always have a supervising driver 21 years of age or older in the car with you.
  • Every occupant under the age of 18 must wear a seat belt or use a child passenger restraint system.
  • You may not use or talk on a cell phone while driving, with or without a hands-free cell phone device.

Step 5: Take drivers training and practice driving under supervision

After earning your instruction permit, if you are under 18, you will need to complete 6 hours of in-car driving lessons with a licensed instructor.

You will also need to practice driving for a minimum of 30 hours (10 at night) under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

Step 6: Take the driving test for your Minnesota drivers license

When you are ready to take the driving test, schedule an appointment with the Road Test Locations Site Office near you.

To be eligible to take the driving test, you must:

  1. Be at least 16 years old.
  2. Have completed your drivers education and in-car driving lessons. You must present a certificate of course completion, or "white card," that proves you have completed an approved drivers education course and in-car driving lessons.
  3. Have held an instruction permit for six months with no convictions for moving violations or for alcohol or controlled-substance violations.
  4. A parent or court-appointed guardian must sign and approve your license application and certify that you have driven under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age for at least 30 hours, 10 of which must have taken place at night.
  5. Show proof of vehicle insurance for the vehicle that you bring for the driving test.

After passing the driving test, you will be issued a provisional license.

During the provisional license period, every occupant under 18 must wear a seatbelt or use a properly fastened child passenger restraint system.

To qualify for your Class D drivers license:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age, or have held a provisional license for at least 12 consecutive months with no convictions for alcohol violations, controlled-substance violations, or crash-related moving violations, and have not had more than one conviction for a moving violation that is not crash related.
  • If you are under 18 years of age, you must certify that you have driven for at least 10 hours under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.

Course Eligibility

Who must take Minnesota drivers education?

If you're between the ages of 15 and 18 and planning to obtain a Minnesota learners permit, you'll need to complete a DPS-approved drivers education course.

Does the DriversEd.com course satisfy DPS requirements?

Our course satisfies the DPS drivers education requirement only for teens who are 100% homeschooled. (If you attend an online school or a charter school, or if you are homebound, you do not meet the definition of a homeschooled student.) Our course is DPS-approved and is equivalent to the regular 30-hour in-class drivers education course.

Why is the Minnesota course only for homeschooled students?

The Minnesota state legislature has not yet authorized online or correspondence drivers education for non-homeschooled students. Several other states have made online drivers education available to all teens, and hopefully, Minnesota will soon join this growing trend.

Why is the Minnesota course available only as a book and not online?

Unlike many other states, the Minnesota state legislature has not yet authorized online drivers education.

    What proof do I need to show that I am a homeschooled student?

    Students must currently be enrolled in an approved homeschooling program and cannot attend a public or private high school. When you order the course, you'll be prompted to mail, email, or fax the information form provided in your dashboard to us.

    DriversEd.com
    Attn: Minnesota Home Study Course
    4201 FM 1960 W, Ste 100
    Houston, TX. 77068

    Email: fax@DriversEd.com

    Fax: (877) 922-0230

    Once we receive your form and your payment, we'll mail out your book so you can get started on your drivers education as soon as possible.

    After you complete the course, your parent must submit a Home School Driver's Education Affidavit to the DPS, which will then issue you a proof-of-classroom-completion document that you can use to obtain the Certificate of Enrollment required for the instruction permit.

    What is the difference between drivers education and drivers training?

    Drivers Education: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything that you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. In Minnesota, every new driver under 18 years old must take a 30-hour drivers education course. DriversEd.com provides a DPS-approved Minnesota drivers education course for homeschooled students.

    Drivers Training: the in-car driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. In Minnesota, if you are under 18, you must take 6 hours of drivers training. You can find a local driving school here.

    What is the supervised driving period?

    If you're under 18, once you have your learners permit (instruction permit), you'll have to practice driving for at least 6 months before you apply for your Minnesota drivers license. During this time, you must complete at least 30 hours (10 at night) of supervised driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

    Course Information

    How much does the course cost?

    The cost for the Minnesota drivers education book course is $6895, plus a $15 shipping and handling fee.

    How long will it take for me to finish the course?

    This will vary depending on your individual pace. By Minnesota law, all drivers education courses must be at least 30 hours. The good news is that with DriversEd.com, you can always go at your pace and start and stop at your convenience. Think how fast time can fly if you do 20 minutes here and there!

    How do I access the 50 free practice permit tests?

    After you pay for the course, your free practice permit tests will be accessible in your online account.

    When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?

    After you complete the DriversEd.com course, we will mail your Certificate of Completion free of charge and within 1 business day of your course completion. All certificates are mailed via First Class Mail unless otherwise requested by the student.

    How can I change the delivery method of my Certificate of Completion?

    You can change your delivery method online in your account or by calling us at 888-651-2886.

    How do I get a duplicate copy of my Certificate of Completion?

    If you lose your certificate, you can request a duplicate by calling us at 888-651-2886.

    Will I need to take drivers training after I take this course?

    Minnesota law requires all new drivers under 18 to take at least 6 hours of drivers training (in-car driving lessons). After you complete our course, you'll need to sign up with an approved driving school. In order to take the instruction permit written test, you'll need to show the Certificate of Completion you received from DriversEd.com and proof of enrollment in drivers training.

    Pricing and Payment

    What's included in the DriversEd.com course fee?

    The $6895 course fee covers the cost of your Minnesota drivers education book course as well as your DPS-recognized Certificate of Completion sent to you by First Class Mail. Once you start, you can choose to upgrade your Certificate of Completion shipment for faster delivery if you want. The course fee does not include the shipping and handling fee, which is an additional $15.

    How do I make a payment?

    Pay online:

    You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.

    Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.

    Pay by mail:

    If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:

    DriversEd.com
    Attn: Billing Dept.
    4201 FM 1960 W, Ste 100
    Houston, TX 77068

    Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your course account.

    What is DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?

    At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with 1 month of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!

    Here's how it works:

    1. Sign up for any DriversEd.com Drivers Ed course.
    2. During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
    3. Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.

    What you'll get:

    • Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
    • Anyone in the DriversEd.com driver's family can use it!
    • Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
    • Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
    • For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.

    How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?

    If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.

    How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?

    If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.

    Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:

    Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
    Email: roadside@driversed.com

    Refund Policy

    It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.