California Drivers Ed Online

Learn on any device or from the comfort of your own home! Sign up for California Drivers Ed today!

Earning a California drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you with our drivers ed online California DMV approved course.

How Does California Online Drivers Ed Work?

Just create an account (it takes less than a minute), and you're all set to start our approved California drivers ed course. You're on the road to completing your California drivers education. If you are wondering how long is drivers ed - continue reading!

Log in and out whenever you want; from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. Compare that to spending your weekends in a classroom!

There will be a final exam, but don't worry! You can take it as many times as you need and review the course material as much as you want. Once you pass the test, we'll mail your Certificate of Completion within 1 business day. Shipment by USPS First Class Mail is free, but you can always upgrade the delivery method.

Steps to Getting your California Drivers License:

Step 1: Complete a DMV-approved California drivers education course

How many hours of drivers ed is required in California? If you're under 17½, in order to get your California learners permit and ultimately your California drivers license, you must take a DMV-approved 30-hour California drivers education course and earn a Certificate of Completion.

With, you can take your California drivers education course all online and receive an official Certificate of Completion. is a DMV-approved online provider of the required 30-hour California drivers education course. Our driving school is licensed by the DMV.

Step 2: Study for the California learners permit/instruction permit test

To earn the California provisional instruction permit and eventually the California drivers license, everyone must pass a knowledge test on traffic laws and signs regardless of age. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DMV.

A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online California permit practice tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.

Fifty online practice permit tests come free with our California drivers education course.

Step 3: Apply for the California learners permit/instruction permit

When you're ready to take your written permit test, save time by scheduling your test appointment at your local DMV location.

As of December 1, 2014, anyone applying for an original driver license must have an appointment to come into a DMV field office. Drivers License Processing Centers do not require an appointment.

Appointments can be made in several ways for our drivers ed course California:

  1. online
  2. via the DMV Now app (iPhone/Android)
  3. by calling 1-800-777-0133

To be eligible for the California instruction permit, you must:

  • Be at least 15½ years old.
  • Submit a completed application form DL 44-available at the DMV office. A parent or guardian must sign this application if you're under 18.
  • Provide your Social Security number.
  • Give proof of your birth date and legal residence (originals or certified copies only). View acceptable documents.
  • Submit a Certificate of Completion from a DMV-approved California drivers education course if you're under 17½.
  • Give your thumbprint.
  • Pay the application fee. This fee entitles you to three exams of any type within the 12 month period and pays for both your provisional instruction permit and your drivers license. If all requirements are not met within the 12 month period, the application becomes void and all steps must be completed again.
  • Pass a vision exam.
  • Pass a traffic laws and sign test. There are 46 questions on the test. You'll have to answer at least 39 questions correctly. You have three chances to pass the test. If you fail, you must wait seven days before retaking the test.

Once you pass the test, you will be issued a provisional instruction permit.

Step 4: Practice driving under supervision

Once you have your California provisional instruction permit, you'll need to practice driving under supervision. A parent, guardian, spouse, or adult 25 years of age or older, who has a valid California drivers license, must be with you at all times when you drive.

To get your license before you turn 18, you'll need to practice driving for at least 6 months before taking the driving test. You must also complete the following:

  1. Take 6 hours of drivers training with a professional driving school, and
  2. Complete 50 hours (10 at night) of practice driving with a parent, guardian, or another adult 25 years or older. The adult must have a valid California drivers license and certify 50 hours of practice driving.

Step 5: Take the driving test for your California drivers license

When you're ready to take the California driving test, make an appointment with your local DMV.

As of December 1, 2014, anyone applying for an original driver license must have an appointment to come into a DMV field office. Drivers License Processing Centers do not require an appointment.

Appointments can be made in several ways:

  1. online
  2. via the DMV Now app (iPhone/Android)
  3. by calling 1-800-777-0133

To take your driving test, you must:

  • Be at least 16 years old.
  • Have your permit for a minimum of 6 months.
  • Have completed a DMV-approved California drivers education course (if you're under 17½).
  • Have completed 6 hours of professional drivers training (if you're under 17½).
  • Have completed 50 hours (including 10 hours of night driving) of practice with a licensed adult who is 25 years or older (if you're under 18).
  • Show proof of birth date and legal presence using one of the documents listed above in Step 2.
  • Show proof of insurance for the vehicle you will be using for your driving test.

Can I access the course using a mobile device?

Absolutely. Our California 30 hour driver education course is accessible from your desktop, laptop, or mobile device. You can switch between the mobile site and the full desktop site whenever you want.

California Teen Course Eligibility

Who needs to take California drivers education?

How old do you have to be to take drivers ed? If you're between 15½ and 17½ years old and want to get a California learners permit (provisional instruction permit), you'll need to complete a DMV-approved drivers education course.'s online course is DMV-approved and fulfills the California drivers education requirement for new drivers under 17. But no matter how old you are, if you want to learn about driving in California and plan to obtain a California drivers license, you can take this course.

Does the course satisfy DMV requirements?

Our course is DMV-approved (Easy Driving School, LLC, LIC. #4442) and is equivalent to the regular 30-hour, in-class drivers education course. After you complete our course, you will receive a DMV-accepted Certificate of Completion (DL 400C).

What exactly is drivers education and drivers training?

  • Drivers Education is a class that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, etc., so you're ready to pass your written permit test. Our California drivers education course is DMV-approved so new drivers under 17½ can complete their class entirely online.
  • Drivers Training is the in-car driving lessons with a licensed driving instructor. In California, if you are under 17½, you must take 6 hours of drivers training to take your road test later on.

California Drivers Ed Course Information

How long will it take for me to finish the course?

How long does drivers ed take? That depends on your individual pace. In California, all drivers education courses must be at least 30 hours. The good news is that with, you can always go at your own pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time flies if you do 20 minutes here and there!

How do I access the free practice permit tests?

After payment, your free practice permit tests will become accessible from your online account.

When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?

For most courses, we offer free shipping of your completion certificate via U.S. Mail. In some cases, we even ship on the same day you complete your course. If you’d like your certificate sooner rather than later, we also offer affordable expedited delivery options via FedEx. Please note that if you live in a rural area, delivery delays may occur. Email delivery and immediate download is also available in some states.

Can I get my Certificate of Completion faster?

Of course. 

How do I get another copy of my Certificate of Completion?

If you lose your certificate, you can simply request a duplicate in your account. Under your certificate delivery details, there will be a link to request a duplicate certificate.

Will I need to take in-car driving lessons after this course?

California law requires all new drivers under 17 ½ take at least 6 hours of drivers training (in-car driving lessons).

After you complete our online drivers education course, you'll need to sign up with a licensed driving school. To take your instruction permit written test, you'll need the Certificate of Completion you receive from

How do I make a Payment?

You can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or Google Pay.

Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, Chime, CashApp, etc. cannot be used to make a payment.

What is Roadside Assistance?

At, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide students with 1 month of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!

Here's how it works:

  1. Sign up for any Drivers Ed course California Drivers Ed course.
  2. During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
  3. Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.

What you'll get:

  • Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
  • Anyone in the driver's family can use it!
  • Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
  • Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
  • For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions.

How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?

If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.

How do I cancel my Roadside Assistance?

If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.

Got more questions? Contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance line:

Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816

Refund Policy

It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request.