HISD Texas Drivers Education Course FAQs
Don't get stuck trying to figure out all the complicated details. We've got the latest information about Texas license requirements and regulations for you, so you can focus on the important part: earning your Texas driver's license!
How It Works
How does online drivers ed work?
The process is simple. Create an account by choosing a username and password. In a few minutes, you'll be all set to start the Alabama drivers ed course. You can pay right away or you can take up to 20% of the course before you make up your mind. Either way, you'll be on the road to becoming a safer driver.
Your course is available to you online 24/7. That means you can log in and out whenever you want and from any computer that has Internet access! When you log back in, we'll take you back to the exact place you left off. Doesn't that sound better than spending your weekends in a classroom?
At the end of the course there will be a final exam. Don't worry though—you can take it as many times as you need in order to pass. Once you pass the test, we'll mail out your Certificate of Completion within 1 business day. Shipment by USPS First Class Mail is free, but you can always upgrade your certificate's delivery method if you want.
How do I get my driver license?
Step 1: Begin a TEA-approved Texas driver ed course
Texas requires all new drivers under 18 to take driver education. In order to apply for their Texas learner license / instruction permit, all applicants under 18 must first complete at least 6 hours of a 32-hour TEA-approved Texas driver education course.
Take our online Texas driver education course to fulfill your DPS and TEA requirements the simple way. Our online course lets you study at your own pace from any Internet-connected device. When you complete the course, you'll receive an official Certificate of Completion.
Step 2: Study for the Texas learner license / instruction permit test
To earn the learner license and eventually the Texas driver license, everyone no matter how old must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. Seventy percent of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DPS.
Taking up-to-date Texas DPS practice permit tests online is proven to increase your chances of passing your learner license test. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.
Fifty online practice permit tests come free with our Texas drivers education course.
Step 3: Apply for the Texas learner license / instruction permit
Apply for your learner license at a Driver License Office.
To be eligible for the Texas learner license, you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Submit an Application for Texas Driver License, DL-14A.
- Pay the required fee for Learner License Issuance.
- Show proof of Liability Insurance (if you own the vehicle).
- Show proof of identity.
- Show proof of Social Security number.
- Submit a Verification of Enrollment and Attendance in School Form (TEA form GEA-043R93).
- Submit a Certificate of Driver Education, DE-964 Classroom (proof of completion of objectives for the first 6 hours of drivers education)
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass the written learner license test. There are 30 multiple choice questions and you'll need a 70% minimum score to pass.
- Once you pass the written test, you'll be issued a learner license.
All students must have a learner license before they can start the in-car phase of the driver education program.
If you're in our area, you can complete the in-car phase with the professional, patient, friendly instructors of DriversEd.com! We tailor our lessons to your learning style, and all our Texas driving lessons take place in a MINI Countryman with a top safety rating.
If you're outside our area or wish to take driving lessons with a different driving school, we'll transfer you conveniently to the commercial driving school of your choice.
Step 4: Practice driving under supervision
Once you have your learner license, you'll need to practice driving under supervision for at least 6 months. Remember, you can only drive when a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old is seated next to you.
You are also required to complete the following:
- 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving training and 7 hours of in-car observation with a licensed driving instructor in a TEA-approved program
- 20 hours of supervised driving with 10 hours at night
Step 5: Take the driving test for your Texas driver license
Once the student has turned 16 and held a learner license for at least 6 months, the student must pass the driving skills test administered by DPS prior to issuing a Class C Provisional drivers license.
You will need to bring the required documents to the driver license office. These include your Certificate of Completion.
Provisional License Restrictions
A Provisional License holder:
- May not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger in the vehicle under 21 years old who is not a family member.
- May not operate a vehicle between midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless the operation of the vehicle is necessary for the operator to attend or participate in employment or a school-related activity or because of a medical emergency.
- May not operate a vehicle while using a wireless communication device, such as a cell phone.
- Your license will state "TRC 545.424 applies until MM/DD/YY" and will indicate the date the provisional phase expires.
After the 12-month period, the Provisional License Restrictions will automatically end.
Who must take Texas driver education?
If you're over 14 years old and planning to obtain a Texas learner license, you'll need to complete a TEA-approved drivers education course.
DriversEd.com's online course fulfills the Texas DPS drivers education requirement.
Does the DriversEd.com course satisfy TEA and DPS requirements?
Yes. Our course is approved by the TEA (school #C3244), satisfies DPS requirements, and is equivalent to the regular 32-hour in-class drivers education course.
What is the difference between the classroom phase and the in-car phase of the driver education program?
Classroom Phase: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything that you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. In Texas, every new driver under 18 years old must take a 32-hour drivers education course before applying for the learner license. DriversEd.com provides a TEA-approved Texas drivers education course.
In-Car Phase: the in-car driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. In Texas, if you are under 18, you must complete a 34-hour in-car phase of drivers education. This consists of 7 hours of behind-the-wheel training, 7 hours of in-car observation, and an additional 20 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving, including 10 hours of night driving. The additional 20 hours of behind-the-wheel driving must be monitored by a parent or guardian and do not need to be provided by a licensed drivers education school. However, the hours must be completed in the presence of an adult who holds a valid driver license, is 21 or older, has at least one year of driving experience, and occupies the seat next to the driver.
Can I take this course if I'm over 18 years old?
Yes. If you are over 18 years old, you have the option to take this 32-hour driver education course instead of the 6-hour Texas adult driver education course, but you must complete all 32 hours of the course. With the 32-hour course, you'll gain additional knowledge about driving and road safety.
What is the difference between drivers education and drivers training?
- Drivers Education: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything that you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. In Texas, every new driver under 18 years old must take a 32-hour drivers education course before applying for the learners permit. DriversEd.com provides a DPS-approved drivers education course.
- Drivers Training: the in-car driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. In Texas, if you are under 18, you must take 14 hours of drivers training (7 hours behind the wheel and 7 hours of in-car observation.) However, if you are participating in the Parent-Taught Drivers Education program, your parent can provide the 14 hours of drivers training. See explanation of PTDE above.
How much does the course cost?
The cost for the Texas drivers ed online course is $99.
HISD students get 25% off!
Can I test drive the Texas course?
Of course! You can take up to 20% of the course before you will need to make a payment in order to continue with the course.
How long will it take for me to finish the course?
That depends on your individual pace. By Texas law, the classroom phase of the drivers ed course takes at least 32 hours. With DriversEd.com, you can log in and out whenever you want and we'll keep track of where you left off last.
Is the participation of a parent or guardian required?
No, this Texas drivers ed course does not require the participation of a parent or guardian. You can study completely on your own.
How do I access the free, unlimited practice permit tests?
After you pay for the course, your free practice permit tests will be accessible in your account.
When will I receive my Certificate of Partial Course Completion or Certificate of Completion?
Once you've completed the first 6 hours of your online drivers ed course, we'll send you a Certificate of Partial Course Completion. If you choose to take the DPS knowledge test online with us, we'll send your Certificate of Partial Course Completion once you've completed the first 6 hours of the course and passed your DPS knowledge test. Please note that if you do not take or pass the test within 7 days of completing the first 6 hours of the course, we will issue your certificate without the test scores, and you will have to take the knowledge test at the DPS. If you are under 15 years old, we will send your Certificate of Partial Course Completion once you turn 15 and are old enough to begin in-car training.
After you complete the required in-car phase, you'll receive a copy of your Certificate of Completion. If you choose to complete your in-car phase with another driving school, your Certificate of Completion will be issued by your chosen driving school.
How can I change the mail delivery method of my Certificate of Partial Completion or Certificate of Completion?
All certificates are mailed via First Class Mail for free.
You can change your delivery method online in your account or by calling us at 888-651-2886.
How do I get a duplicate copy of my Certificate of Partial Completion or Certificate of Completion?
To request a duplicate copy of your Certificate of Completion or Certificate of Partial Completion, please call us at 888-651-2886.
Will I need to take the in-car phase of driver education after I complete this course?
Yes. Texas law requires all teens under 18 to complete 7 hours of in-car drivers training and 7 hours of in-car observation with a licensed driving instructor in a TEA-approved program.
With our Texas 32-hour drivers education course, you can take in-car driving lessons with us concurrently once you finish the first six hours of the classroom phase of driver ed. With DriversEd.com's TEA-approved in-car phase of the driver education program, you'll learn to drive with patient, friendly, professional instructors behind the wheel of a MINI Countryman!
If you wish to complete the in-car phase with another school, or if you're outside DriversEd.com's driving school area, you'll be participating the block method of drivers education. That means you can start the in-car phase after you complete your classroom phase of Texas drivers ed. Once you complete our online drivers ed course, we'll transfer you to the driving school your choice to start your behind-the-wheel training.
Will I need to take a high school drivers ed class in addition to this course?
No. The DriversEd.com 32-hour Texas drivers education course gives you everything you need to complete the classroom phase of drivers education.
When you're ready for the in-car phase, you can take lessons with DriversEd.com! Students in our area can complete the in-car phase with our professional, patient, friendly instructors behind the wheel of a MINI Countryman with a top safety rating.
If you're outside our area or wish to take driving lessons with a different driving school, we'll transfer you to the commercial driving school of your choice.
What's included in the DriversEd.com course fee?
The course fee includes everything you need to complete your classroom phase of drivers education course online as well as your DPS-recognized Certificate of Completion.
For the in-car phase of drivers education, DriversEd.com also offers professional driving lessons with patient, friendly, certified driving instructors. If you choose us for your in-car phase , you'll learn to drive in a MINI Countryman with a top safety rating! When it's time for you to start the in-car phase, we'll provide more information about taking driving lessons with our driving school.
How do I pay for the course?
Once you create an account, you can pay online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card over the phone by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.
Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
If you would like to pay by check or money order, please mail your payment along with your username to:DriversEd.com
Attn: Billing Dept.
4201 FM 1960 W, Ste 100
Houston, TX 77068
Is it safe to use my credit card online?
What is the refund policy for the Texas drivers education course?
While we're confident that you'll enjoy the DriversEd.com Texas program, if for some reason you would like a refund, you can request one. Please contact us toll free at 888-651-2886 to find out if you are eligible for a refund.
Refund eligibility: We will issue full refunds to students who have not completed the 32-hour Online Driver Education Course and have not been issued a Certificate of Completion. We will NOT issue a refund if the 32-hour Online Driver Education Course has been completed and a Certificate of Completion has been mailed to the student.