Texas In-Car Driving Lessons


Man and woman in car

How Many Hours of Drivers Training Are Required in Texas?

Getting your license is an exciting accomplishment that comes with lots of new freedoms and responsibilities. That's why the state of Texas wants to be sure that all new drivers are well prepared.

To achieve this goal, the Texas DPS requires all license applicants who are under 18 to complete a comprehensive driver's education course. All approved courses include at least 32 hours of classroom instruction, as well as behind-the-wheel training.

Understanding Texas Drivers Training Requirements

In addition to completing classroom instruction, young license applicants are also required to complete in-vehicle training, which includes three components:

  • Seven hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
  • Seven hours of in-car observation
  • 30 hours of additional practice including at least 10 hours at night

How Can I Complete My Texas Drivers Training?

While young drivers typically log their practice hours with their parents, you have a few options when it comes to completing your behind-the-wheel instruction, observation and classroom requirements. They include:

  • Private driving schools
  • Public high schools
  • Parent-taught driver's education (PTDE)

Though teen drivers choose each of those options for different reasons, there are definitely benefits to going with a private driving school. Not only will you be learning from a professional, but driving schools typically require fewer hours of classroom instruction (32) than are required by public high schools (56.)

When selecting a driving school, be sure to go with a state-approved option, like DriversEd.com. DriversEd.com offers the only program in Texas to be approved by the Road Safety Educators Association and accredited by the Driving School Association of the Americas. It also offers expert instructors and the coolest cars, including Mazda3s and MINI Coopers.

How Does Behind-the-Wheel Training Work?

Texas drivers training requirements stipulate that teens must have a learner's permit before they begin their in-car lessons. They're also limited to one hour of behind-the-wheel instruction per day, which can be paired with one hour of classroom instruction or in-car observation.

During your behind-the-wheel lessons, you'll start with the basics and work your way up to more challenging skills including backing, parking, city and highway driving. Most driving schools, including DriversEd.com, will also make an effort to prepare you for your road test so that you'll be ready to get your license!

Texas In-Car
Driving Lessons

  • Certified professional instructors
  • Earn an insurance discount
  • Get picked up for your lessons—free
  • Master the driving basics

Get Started Today

../../