A Guide to Teen Driving Laws in Ohio

Understanding Ohio Laws

Ohio Drivers Ed Online

Learn on any device or from the comfort of your own home! Sign up for Ohio Drivers Ed today!

Home / Ohio / Teen Drivers Ed / A Guide to Teen Driving Laws in Ohio

Obtaining your Ohio drivers license is an absolute wonderful feeling as it offers you freedom, fun, and confidence. But there are Ohio teen driving laws you'll need to follow before earning your full license. These rules will put you on the right course to becoming a safe and responsible driver.

Understanding Ohio Laws for Teen Drivers

You can drive without supervision once you receive your probationary drivers license, but there are some restrictions if you're under the age of 16:

  • If you have held a probationary license for less than 12 months, you cannot drive between midnight and 6 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Exceptions are granted for school activity, emergencies, or driving to or from work.
  • You and all passengers must wear safety belts.
  • You cannot use a cellphone while driving.

If you are under 18 and have been holding a probationary drivers license for 12 months, you can drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. when accompanied by a parent or guardian with the same exceptions listed above.

For more information on Ohio teen driving laws, please refer to the Ohio Driver Handbook. The Ohio Driver Handbook is the official document that teaches drivers about state laws and safety rules related to driving in Ohio. It lays out the basics that every driver needs to know.