Idaho Teen Drivers Ed FAQ
Earning an Idaho drivers license should be simple. We know your goal is to get in the drivers seat as soon as possible and with as little hassle as possible—and we can help you.
How It Works
In less than a minute, you can create an account and be ready to begin our approved Idaho drivers ed course.
Part of the enrollment process will be picking a local driving school to take your in-car driver training from. This is a necessary part of your overall driver education. You can start your behind-the-wheel lessons as soon as you've enrolled with us.
Once you've enrolled, you'll be able to log in and out whenever you want from any Internet-connected computer. When you log back in, we'll take you to the exact place you left off. That's certainly more convenient than spending your weekends in a classroom!
At the end of the online course, there will be a final exam modeled after the written knowledge test you'll have to take to obtain your license. Don't worry, though—you can review the course material as much as you want. Once you've passed the test, we'll provide the driving school you picked with confirmation of your course completion—for no additional charge. Then you can finish up your driver training with your local driving school and get ready to take your DMV test!
How do I get my drivers license?
In Idaho, the type of permit you can apply for depends on your age. If you are under 17, you are only allowed to apply for a driver training instruction permit. Anyone at least 14½ can apply for this permit, which allows the holder to attend drivers education and drivers training courses and to operate a vehicle under the supervision of a professional driving instructor.
To apply for the Driver Training Instruction Permit, you must go to the drivers license office at your county sheriff's department and:
- Submit proof of Idaho residency, such as school enrollment records or employment records
Provide a certified original birth certificate and one of the following forms of identification (photocopies or notarized copies are not accepted):
- Valid U.S. Passport
- Valid Military Identification Card
- Native American Tribal Identification Card
- Naturalization Certificate
- Valid Foreign Passport with Immigration Visa/I-94
- High school photo ID or yearbook photo
- Provide your Social Security number.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pay the required fee.
- Submit proof of enrollment and attendance in or graduation from a recognized high school or equivalent program
- Have a parent or legal guardian sign consent at the county drivers license office in which he or she assumes legal responsibility for your actions as a driver until you turn 18
If you are over 17, you may apply for a standard Class D instruction permit by providing the same documentation listed above and passing a written knowledge test at the DMV. With this permit, you are not required to attend any drivers education or drivers training classes—but they're still a terrific idea!
Once you have successfully applied for a driver training instruction permit, the permit will be given to your drivers training instructor. At this point, you may begin the classroom and in-car portions of your driving instruction. You must attend driving lessons at an approved driving school.
According to Idaho law, you must attend 30 hours of classroom drivers education (which is provided by this DriversEd.com course) and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, in addition to 6 hours of in-car observation of another driver, to complete the requirements of the driver training instruction permit.
When you have met these requirements, you will be provided with documentation of course completion. You must provide these documents at the licensing office when you apply for your drivers license. In addition, when you complete your in-car training, your instructor will hand over your driver training instruction permit to your parents. It will now act as a supervised instruction permit.
With the supervised instruction permit, you will be allowed to operate a vehicle as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 years old in your passenger seat.
By Idaho law, you must drive with your supervised instruction permit for at least six months before you can obtain your drivers license. During this period, you are required to accumulate at least 50 hours of supervised driving time, at least 10 hours of which must occur at night.
In addition, you must always carry your supervised instruction permit, obey all laws regarding alcohol and other intoxicating substances, and ensure that your passengers are always wearing their seatbelts. If you violate any traffic laws or restrictions during this period, you will have to apply for a permit and begin your six-month supervised instruction period again.
At the end of your supervised instruction period, it is recommended that you review the material from your drivers education course before you take the written knowledge exam, which assesses your knowledge of Idaho traffic laws and signs. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DMV.
Once you are 15 years old, you may apply for your drivers license as long as you have completed all the requirements associated with the driver training instruction permit and the supervised instruction permit. In order to obtain your license, you must pass a written knowledge test at your county sheriff's office. When you go to take your written test, you should also bring course completion documentation paperwork (provided by your behind-the-wheel training provider), as well as the documentation you provided when applying for your instruction permit. You will be required to pay a fee.
You must also pass a driving skills test using a vehicle that you provide. To take the driving skills test, you must make an appointment with an Idaho-approved skills tester. In addition to a fee you must pay at the licensing office, you must also pay a fee directly to the skills tester. When you go to take your skills test, be sure you have your instruction permit, as well as the course completion documentation paperwork provided by your behind-the-wheel training provider.
If you fail either test, you must wait three days before taking the test again.
Once you have passed your tests, you will be issued a drivers license. If you are under 18, your license will expire 5 days after your 18th birthday and you will be able to apply for a new license. If you are between 18 and 21, your license will expire 5 days after your 21st birthday.
If you are under 16, your license will have the following restriction: You may only drive during daylight hours (between ½ hour before sunrise and ½ hour after sunset) unless you are accompanied by a valid, licensed driver who is at least 21 and sitting in the passenger seat.
If you are under 17, your license will have the following restriction: During the first six months that you have the license, you may drive with no more than one passenger, unless the passenger is related by blood, marriage, or adoption.
Violations of these restrictions may result in an automatic 30-day license suspension.
Who needs to take Idaho drivers education?
If you are under the age of 17 and are planning to obtain an Idaho drivers license, you'll need to apply for a driver training instruction permit and complete an approved drivers education course, including a classroom portion and in-car training. Our online course only covers the requirement for classroom education: this is why you must sign up for drivers training with a local driving school when you enroll in our online course.
DriversEd.com's online course is a fully approved course and fulfills the Idaho drivers education requirement for new drivers under 17. But no matter how old you are, if you want to learn about driving in Idaho and plan to obtain an Idaho drivers license, you may find it very useful to take this course.
Does the DriversEd.com course satisfy DMV requirements?
Yes. Our course is approved by the Driving Business Board, under the Occupational Licensing division of the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD). Our online course is equivalent to the regular 30-hour classroom drivers education course. You will need to supplement our course with in-car lessons from a local driving school, however, to fulfill the full set of DMV requirements.
Can I try the Idaho course before I have to pay?
Sorry, not at this time!
What is the difference between drivers education and drivers training?
Learning to drive in Idaho consists of two major components. Drivers Education is an informational class that teaches you the essential knowledge you'll need behind the wheel, including rules of the road, vehicle safety tips, etc., so that you'll understand what it takes to be a good driver and be prepared to pass your written knowledge test. Our Idaho drivers education course is fully approved so new drivers can complete their class entirely online.
In-car driving lessons, the other component of learning to drive in Idaho, are referred to as Drivers Training. In Idaho, drivers under 17 must complete a drivers training program in addition to the drivers education provided by this course in order to receive a drivers license. You can start taking your Drivers Training as soon as you enroll with DriversEd.com and select a local driving school. Must be a commercial driving school in Idaho.
How long will it take for me to finish the course?
That depends on your individual pace. In Idaho, all drivers education courses must take at least 30 hours to complete. In a classroom, such a course might eat up several weeks worth of precious weekend hours. Fortunately, with DriversEd.com, you can always go at your own pace, logging in and out at your convenience. By finishing 20 minutes of the course here and there, that time will seem to fly by.
How will I receive my course completion documentation paperwork?
After you complete your DriversEd.com online course, we will provide the driver training school you chose when you enrolled with notification that you have completed the online portion of your drivers education.
Can I get my course completion documentation paperwork faster?
Sorry, but no. You cannot receive this documentation until you have finished your drivers education, including both behind-the-wheel driver training and the online drivers ed course that fulfills your classroom drivers ed requirement.
How do I get another copy of my drivers ed completion paperwork?
You will have to request this paperwork from the driving school you took your in-car training from.
Will I need to take drivers training in addition to this course?
Yes. That is why you must pick a local driving school to take drivers training from when you enroll in our online course. You can begin your drivers training as soon as you enroll with us!
According to Idaho law, the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Program requires all drivers with a driver training instruction permit to complete 30 hours of drivers education as well as 6 hours of in-car drivers training and 6 hours of time in-car observing another driver. Anyone under 17 must acquire and complete the requirements for a driver training instruction permit in order to obtain a standard license. Please note, this course only covers the required 30 hours of drivers education.
You can complete the 6 hours of drivers training with any approved driving school, while you can complete the in-car observation with your professional driving instructor or with a licensed parent or guardian.
Pricing and Payment
How much does the course cost?
The cost for our Idaho drivers education online course is .
What's included in the course fee?
The DriversEd.com course fee covers your entire online Idaho drivers education course—no hidden fees!
Once you complete the course, you also get unlimited access to the course material—that means you can review the course for as long as you need!
How do I make a payment?
If you are signing up for our course through your local driving school, they will issue you a prepaid code. Simply sign up and enter the code when you are asked to do so.
You can pay also online using VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or PayPal. You can also pay by credit card by calling our customer service at 888-651-2886.
Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, American Express, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.
If you would like to pay by check or money order, just mail your payment along with your username to:
Attn: Billing Dept.
P.O. Box 238
Oakland, CA 94604-0238
Once we receive payment, we'll send you a confirmation email and update your course account.
Is it safe to use my credit card online?
Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we promise never to share your information with anyone else.
What is DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
At DriversEd.com, we are here for you every step of the way - that's why we've teamed up with Allstate Roadside Services to provide DriversEd.com students with three months of free roadside assistance. Turns out you can put a price tag on peace of mind!
Here's how it works:
- Sign up for any DriversEd.com Drivers Ed course.
- During checkout, make sure to click the button to claim your free trial of Roadside Assistance. This will enroll you in your three free months of roadside assistance. Free trial enrollment is only available during checkout. After your trial ends, your card will be charged $5/month, and you can cancel at any time.
- Hit the road with peace of mind knowing you are covered with emergency roadside assistance.
What you'll get:
- Roadside coverage available 24/7, anywhere in the United States
- Anyone in the DriversEd.com driver's family can use it!
- Digital tools to help you get the right service fast
- Towing, fuel delivery, lockout service, and more!
- For more information about the benefits involved, check out our terms and conditions here.
Got more questions? Contact our dedicated DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance line:
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
I have questions about my Roadside Assistance. Who should I contact?
Simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance support team, and a Customer Experience agent will help you out!
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
How do I use my Roadside Assistance service?
If you need to use your Roadside Assistance Benefits for towing, fuel delivery, or another included service, contact Allstate at 1-855-520-3691.
How do I cancel my DriversEd.com Roadside Assistance?
If you would like to cancel your Roadside Assistance, simply contact our dedicated Roadside Assistance agents.
Phone: +1 (888) 289-2816
It is important to us that you are satisfied with your purchase. If you change your mind about the course, we'll refund the full cost of the course purchased on our website within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds will only be issued if the course has not been completed. We will issue your refund within thirty (30) days of your request. If your course was purchased through a driving school, you must contact the school directly to receive a refund.