DriversEd.com Student Enrollment Contract
Per Texas law, all driver education students and providers are required to enter into a contract for the entirety of the instruction time. Please read the following contract and check the box on the enrollment page to acknowledge that you understand and agree to the conditions of taking a driver education course in Texas.
Student Enrollment Contract
This contract is to certify that:
The STUDENT will take the DriversEd.com 32-hour Online Driver Education Course, hereafter referred to as the SCHOOL COURSE, from EDriving LLC dba Easy Driving School LLC (School License #C3244), hereafter referred to as the SCHOOL OWNER.
The registration fee for the SCHOOL COURSE is not more than for 32 hours of instruction, and may be reduced in the case of discounts, sales, or other promotions. The fee must be paid prior to the start of the course.
The STUDENT can pay for the course with a credit card, electronic check, PayPal account, or check/money order in the mail. If the STUDENT pays electronically, he or she will be allowed to continue with personal verification (and then the course) as soon as the transaction is successfully completed. If the STUDENT pays with a mailed check, he or she has to wait for the check to be received and processed by the SCHOOL OWNER staff. As soon as the SCHOOL OWNER system is updated with a "paid" status, the STUDENT can finish the enrollment process and take the course.
The SCHOOL COURSE is 1,920 minutes long and divided into 32 units. Because this course is online, the STUDENT may stop, exit, and re-enter the course at any time and resume the course. The STUDENT should complete the course within one hundred eighty (180) days of finishing the enrollment process; if he or she does not, the SCHOOL OWNER may require him or her to start the course again from the beginning (with an administrative fee of fifty dollars ($50)). Each unit of the course consists of about 60 minutes of instructional content, including multimedia presentations and quizzes. The STUDENT has access to the course and customer service 7 days a week. If the STUDENT has a question about course content, he or she will have access to instructors Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. This access may be affected by circumstances the SCHOOL OWNER has no control over such as, but not limited to, site connectivity, hardware or software failure.
The STUDENT agrees to complete all units of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation-approved curriculum in order to receive an official Certificate of Completion. The STUDENT agrees to score 70% or higher on the final exam. The STUDENT is allowed three attempts at the final exam; if the STUDENT fails the final exam three times, he or she must start the course again from the beginning (at no additional charge). The STUDENT is not responsible for any final exam fees. The STUDENT further understands that he or she must pass a quiz at the end of each unit with a score of 70% or higher. If the STUDENT fails any unit quiz, the STUDENT must retake that unit.
The STUDENT agrees to undergo personal identity verification by enrolling in a biometric voice verification system. In addition, the SCHOOL OWNER will validate STUDENT responses to authentication questions presented randomly throughout the course using information provided by the STUDENT during enrollment. In the unlikely event that the STUDENT is unable to enroll or authenticate using the voice password procedure, the STUDENT should call DriversEd.com customer service at 877-877-2525 or 888-651-2886.
The STUDENT understands that for identity verification purposes the SCHOOL OWNER may utilize the following method for ensuring the identity of the course participant:
- The STUDENT will be required to authenticate his/her identity using the biometric voice verification system from his/her own location by providing subsequent and random voice samples to be validated against the originally enrolled voice password.
- The STUDENT will additionally be required to answer personal validation questions based on information provided by the STUDENT during enrollment.
The STUDENT agrees that only he or she will be taking the online course, including 32 units, quizzes, multimedia and the final exam. If the SCHOOL OWNER recognizes that the STUDENT has misrepresented himself/herself, a Certificate of Completion will not be issued.
The SCHOOL OWNER will not sell or disclose any STUDENT'S personal information to any third party. For more on privacy, please visit https://driversed.com/about-us/privacy-policy.aspx.
Refund policy: in accordance with Texas Ed. Code §1001.401 and Texas Administrative Code §84.111, the SCHOOL OWNER will issue a full refund if the STUDENT cancels his/her enrollment within seventy-two (72) hours of registering for the course unless the SCHOOL OWNER has issued the STUDENT a Certificate of Partial Completion during that period. If the STUDENT cancels his/her enrollment after seventy-two (72) hours of registering for the course, the SCHOOL OWNER will issue a full refund less a twenty-five dollar ($25) administrative fee.
The SCHOOL OWNER issues all refunds within thirty (30) days of receiving a permissible request for enrollment cancellation. Refund requests must be submitted prior to the STUDENT'S course completion date. In the event of the cancellation of this contract, whether by the STUDENT or by the SCHOOL OWNER, the termination of the STUDENT'S course enrollment shall include the cancellation of his/her Texas Learner License by the Texas Department of Public Safety, Driver Improvement and Control Division, PO Box 4087, Austin, TX 78773-0001.
The STUDENT may also choose to complete in-car instruction with DriversEd.com. To do so, the STUDENT must agree to the following terms and conditions for in-car instruction:
- All fees for in-car instruction are payable in advance of each and every lesson.
- In-car instruction and observation is conducted by appointment only. The STUDENT will be charged a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for any in-car driving appointment he or she does not meet or any in-car observation appointment he or she does not meet, unless the SCHOOL OWNER is given at least twenty-four (24) hours notice in advance.
- There will be a thirty-five dollar ($35.00) service charge on all returned checks.
- No certification of completion will be issued until all necessary fees have been paid in full.
- The SCHOOL OWNER will complete the course in a reasonable length of time. However, it cannot be held responsible for delays caused by mechanical failure, unsafe driving conditions or any other reason over which it has no control. The SCHOOL OWNER will notify the STUDENT as soon as possible if there is a delay.
- A twenty-five ($25.00) dollar cancellation fee will be added to any refund request made after fifteen (15) days from initial purchase.
- The timeline for completion of the stated course by both parties is one hundred eighty (180) days from the date of signature. The SCHOOL OWNER reserves the right to extend the course completion date by one hundred eighty (180) more days, should it desire to do so, for an administrative fee of fifty dollars ($50).
- The fee schedule set out herein is guaranteed for a period of one hundred eighty (180) days from the date of this contract.
- The SCHOOL OWNER cannot and does not guarantee that the STUDENT will successfully pass the examinations given, in accordance with State Law, by the State of Texas Department of Public Safety or by DriversEd.com. The SCHOOL OWNER does agree to exert its best efforts in teaching the STUDENT to meet and/or exceed the requirements of the Texas DPS examination(s).
- This driver education school maintains business vehicle insurance as required by the Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 601, as well as uninsured or underinsured coverage.
Moreover, the following policies apply to students enrolled in behind-the-wheel lessons:
GRADING / PROGRESS
Progress standards must meet the requirements of the current rules adopted by the Texas Commissioner of Education. Mastery is a prerequisite to being awarded a grade of 70 or above. Evidence of mastery shall be determined by one or more of the following methods, as applicable: 1) unit tests; 2) written assignments; 3) skills performance checklists; and 4) comprehensive examinations of knowledge and skills.
RULES OF OPERATION AND CONDUCT
The STUDENT, or a prospective student, may be dismissed or barred from the school for tardiness; drunkenness or obvious signs of drug use; rude, vulgar or disruptive behavior; smoking or using tobacco products; using a cell phone in the car; or being otherwise inattentive. If the STUDENT is terminated for violating rules of conduct, he or she may be readmitted only at the discretion of the SCHOOL OWNER.
A full refund will be made to the STUDENT if he or she cancels the enrollment contract before midnight of the third day (excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays) after signing the enrollment contract, unless the STUDENT has completed the course and accepted a Certificate of Completion during that period.
- Refund computations will be based on actual instruction received through the last date of attendance.
- The effective date of the termination for refund purposes will be the earliest of the following: (a) the last day of attendance, if the STUDENT'S enrollment is terminated by the SCHOOL OWNER; (b) the date of receipt of written notice from the STUDENT; or (c) the tenth (10th) school day following the last day of attendance.
- If tuition is collected in advance of entrance and, if after the expiration of the seventy-two (72) hour cancellation privilege, the STUDENT does not enter school, terminates enrollment, or withdraws, the SCHOOL OWNER may retain up to fifty dollars ($50) for administrative expenses; and, from the remainder, shall refund that portion of tuition and fees for services not previously received by the STUDENT.
- A full refund of all tuition and/or fees is due and refundable in each of the following cases: (a) when an enrollee is not accepted by the school; (b) if the course of instruction is discontinued by the school; or (c) if the STUDENT'S enrollment was procured as a result of any misrepresentation in advertising or promotional materials of the school, or misrepresentation by the SCHOOL OWNER.
- Refunds shall be completed within thirty (30) days after the effective date of termination.
NOTICE TO PARENTS AND/OR GUARDIANS
All drivers education students, as well as their parents or guardians, are entitled to know the minimum requirements of a teen driver education course.
- There are 32 required hours of classroom instruction that must be completed. A teen must attend the first six hours of classroom instruction before a learner license will be issued by the Texas DPS. Only two hours of scheduled classroom instruction are permitted per day.
- Seven clock hours of in-car driving instruction and an additional seven clock hours of in-car observation are required. A two-hour increment of behind-the-wheel instruction may be offered once during the behind-the-wheel phase of instruction for each student.
- 30 additional clock hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, including ten at night, must be provided to young drivers and certified by a parent or guardian before a teenager may progress to Phase 2 of the Texas Graduated Driver Licensing program.
- If a teen transfers to another school or driver training program, timelines may change and credits for classroom and/or in-car training may not be transferable to the new driver training school.
- The entire driver education course must be completed within the timelines stated in this contract. (Note: during peak enrollment periods, in-car instruction times could be subject to availability.)
- IF YOU HAVE REASON TO BELIEVE THAT THESE MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS ARE NOT BEING MET OR HAVE A COMPLAINT, PLEASE CONTACT THE TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION AT (512) 463-6599, PO Box 12157, Austin, TX 78711.
Chief Executive Officer
EDriving LLC dba Easy Driving School LLC (School License #C3244)
The STUDENT may print out this contract. By checking the box on the enrollment screen, the STUDENT agrees to and acknowledges the following statements, which apply to all portions of this contract:
(1) I have been furnished a copy of the school tuition schedule, cancellation and refund policy, and school regulations pertaining to absence, grading policy, progress, and rules of operation and conduct.
(2) I understand that the SCHOOL OWNER is prohibited from issuing a Certificate of Completion (DE-964) if the STUDENT has not met all of the requirements for course completion, and the STUDENT should not accept a DE-964 under such circumstances.
(3) This agreement constitutes the entire contract between the SCHOOL OWNER and the STUDENT, and assurances or promises not contained herein shall not bind the SCHOOL OWNER or the STUDENT.
(4) I further realize that any grievances not resolved by the school may be forwarded to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (PO Box 12157, Austin, TX 78711); 512‐463‐6599.
In addition, the STUDENT'S parent or guardian must agree to the following statements:
(1) I, the parent or guardian of the STUDENT, acknowledge that I have read and understood the entirety of this contract.
(2) I acknowledge that the STUDENT is under 18, is not and has not been married, and that his/her disabilities of minority have not been removed generally by law. By checking the box, I acknowledge that the STUDENT and I agree to the conditions of taking the DriversEd.com 32-hour Online Driver Education Course with EDriving LLC dba Easy Driving School LLC (School License #C3244) and this stands as my signature.
(3) I understand that I may request that my son or daughter NOT receive individual (one-on-one) instruction. I understand this request may delay the behind-the-wheel training until another student can be scheduled.