Recently, laws regarding teen driving in Reno were updated. These regulations reflect the Nevada Legislature's concern about the high rate of vehicle accidents and driving related fatalities among new drivers. In 1999, one fifth of all fatal driving accidents in Nevada involved teen drivers. Motor vehicle crashes are also the leading cause of death for 15- to 20-year-olds in America.
Reno teens are subject to new statewide curfew laws. Drivers under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless traveling to or from a scheduled event (such as a planned event for work or a school). Law enforcement officers may ask drivers to show proof of the scheduled event. Although this law applies to drivers statewide, there are also local laws on the book that teens should be aware of. Reno minors currently have a curfew of 9 p.m. (unless accompanied by an adult) in the Reno Gaming District. In other areas of Reno, the minor curfew is midnight.
Another new law of concern to Reno teens relates to the experience log that new drivers must keep during the training process. Drivers under the age of 18 who apply for a full license must submit a written log of dates and time conducted of their behind-the-wheel experience.Most Nevada teens are also required to a Certificate of Completion of drivers education. Teens can earn this by enrolling in and completing a drivers education course such as the one found at DriversEd.com
Other restrictions that teen drivers face include the following:
- Student drivers must also now complete 10 of the 50 required behind-the-wheel hours in nighttime conditions while under the supervision of a parent or guardian.
- All drivers under the age of 18 must hold an instructional permit for at least six months. The driver must not be found at fault in an accident or convicted of a moving violation or alcohol/controlled substance offense during this time.
- A student must now be 16 years old to apply for a drivers license. (Previously, the age restriction was 15 years and 9 months).
- Teen drivers may not carry other minor passengers in the car unless the minor is a member of the driver's immediate family.
DriversEd.com is a privately held company and is in no way associated with the Department of Motor Vehicles, any other government agency, or the driving schools listed in this website. All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. DriversEd.com does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages.